Skip to main content

Billboard Reteams With Vevo to Announce 2019 DSCVR Artists To Watch List: Exclusive

Billboard is once again joining video-streaming platform Vevo in the rollout for its list of 2019 Vevo DSCVR Artists To Watch with an announcement today (Nov. 15) of this year's new class for the…

Billboard is once again joining video-streaming platform Vevo in the rollout for its list of 2019 Vevo DSCVR Artists To Watch with an announcement today (Nov. 15) of this year’s new class for the rising talent series.

The latest selections include developing artists such as southern rap group YBN, soul-pop singer-songwriter Amber Mark and British folk artist Jade Bird, who will join the likes of Billie EilishSam Smith and Alessia Cara as Artists To Watch alumni. It’s an expansive list that reflects the globalization of mainstream music in an A&R effort that Vevo head of content JP Evangelista tells Billboard led to “the widest spread of genres that we’ve done.”

“As a company we’re not focused on any one genre of music based on our music videos because we get everything,” Evangelista notes. “I do think we have a much more representative list as to the breadth of our catalogue than it has been in previous years.”


Beyond the new faces in the program, Vevo has been retooling the visual components of DSCVR with new in-house studios in Brooklyn and London in order to add a consistency to the sessions as well as optimizing videos for mobile viewing. Perhaps most notably, the Artists To Watch series will refocus strictly on music, eliminating introductions and spoken pieces and positioning itself more as a performative showcase.

The first piece of content is set to go live on Nov. 26 and will continue with new sessions until Dec. 7. In addition, Billboard will be exclusively premiering one of two performance pieces daily as a partner with the Vevo DSCVR program. The full list can be found below.

Vevo DSCVR 2019 Artists To Watch
AJ Mitchell
Ama Lou
Amber Mark 
Astrid S
Brandon Lay?
Easy Life
Elley Duhé
Jade Bird
Kelvyn Colt
Lauren Sanderson
Matt Hunter
Nebu Kiniza
Sam Fender