Skip to main content

Publishing Briefs: UMPG Embarks on Global Signing Spree; Sony/ATV Enters Partnership With BeatStars

A rundown of the latest moves in publishing, including UMPG's latest signings and Sony/ATV's global partnership with BeatStars.

Universal Music Publishing Group has announced multiple songwriter and producer signings, nearly all of which took place over the video chat platform Zoom.

On April 16, the publisher announced that it had signed Italian producer trio Meduza — comprised of Luca de Gregorio, Mattia Vitale and Simone Giani — to a global publishing deal for their entire catalog and future releases. The producers’ debut release “Piece Of Your Heart” has so far racked up 600 million streams worldwide and was nominated for the 2020 Grammy Award for Best Dance Recording. Their follow up “Lose Control,” with Goodboys and songwriter Becky Hill, has garnered 50 million streams in its first month.


Unlike the deals mentioned below, the signing took place in person, before social distancing mandates were effected.

In addition to the deal with Meduza, UMPG has struck a joint venture with Box Music Publishing – launched by Meduza’s management Club Class Music Group – to discover and develop more emerging talent in the dance music genre.

Across the pond, UMPG UK virtually signed global publishing deals with British-Japanese artist Rina Sawayama and songwriter-artist-producer Oscar Lang. Each agreement covers both catalog and future releases, including Sawayama’s debut album, Sawayama, which was released April 17 via Dirty Hit. Lang co-wrote the track “Coffee” with Beabadoobee, which was sampled by Canadian artist POWFU for his current streaming hit “Death Bed.”

Meanwhile, UMPG UK has extended its global publishing agreement with songwriter-artist Jamie N. Commons for his full catalog and all future releases. Commons, who most recently co-wrote Lewis Capaldi’s “Hold Me While You Wait,” is also featured on the track “Desperation” off Eminem’s latest studio album The Marshall Mathers LP 2. He recently released the EP Fever Dreams.

UMPG Latin signed producer-songwriter Lil Geniuz to a worldwide administration deal that covers all releases going forward. Lil Geniuz recently co-wrote and produced “No Vuelvas Mas” by Darell and “Fumeteo” by Darell and Rauw Alejandro.

Lastly, UMPG Australia signed artist-songwriter Skÿe (a.k.a. Nicolas Duquemin) and producer-songwriter Billy Davis to global publishing deals that cover both catalog and future releases. Skÿe is currently at work on his debut EP with fellow UMPG writer-producer-artist Andy Hopkins (a.k.a. Hauskey). Currently, Davis’s remix of “Headspace” feat. Nadine Lustre, Curtismith and Massiah is No. 1 in The Philippines. His latest single “I Ain’t” (off his forthcoming album) features Jordan Dannis and PJ Morton.



Sony/ATV and music production marketplace BeatStars have struck a new global partnership that will give BeatStars’ songwriters, producers and artists access to Sony/ATV’s publishing and administration services.

Under the deal, Sony/ATV will work on behalf of BeatStars clients to pitch original songs and beats for synch opportunities and recorded music, while also offering BeatStars songwriters and producers access to its expedited foreign royalty payments feature allowing them quicker access to their earnings.

Since its founding in 2008 by CEO Abe Batshon, more than $70 million has been paid out to BeatStars producers, songwriters and beatmakers. The platform has enabled the creation of hit singles including Lil Nas X’s “Old Town Road” and launched the careers of producers including Jetsonmade, Dystinkt Beats, CashMoneyAp, Menoh Beats and 808melobeats.



Concord Music Publishing has signed a worldwide administration deal with composer-lyricist Tom Kitt, the company announced April 15. The agreement covers Kitt’s full catalog and future releases.

Under the deal, Concord will co-produce two of Kitt’s forthcoming projects, including the Off-Broadway musical The Visitor and the Broadway-bound production Almost Famous.

Kitt received the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and two Tony Awards for the smash Broadway musical Next to Normal. His other major credits as a composer include If/Then, Bring It On: The Musical, High Fidelity, Superhero and Disney’s Freaky Friday. He additionally won an Emmy for co-writing the 2013 Tony Awards opening number “Bigger” alongside Lin-Manuel Miranda.

In addition to his stage work, Kitt is signed to Sony Masterworks as an artist. He is slated to begin recording a new album of original compositions sometime this year.



Reach Music Publishing has entered a global administration deal with the estate of DJ-producer-singer Romanthony (a.k.a. Anthony Moore) that will cover his full catalog comprising over 100 songs, including his share of Daft Punk’s hit single “One More Time.” Romanthony was a featured vocalist on that track, as well as on Daft Punk’s “Too Long” off the 2001 album Discovery.

“One More Time” is currently featured on the soundtrack album for Universal Pictures Trolls World Tour, which was released to digital platforms earlier this month.

Romanthony died from complications of kidney disease in 2013 at age 45.



Songwriter and producer Kenneth Leonard, Jr. has signed a worldwide co-publishing agreement with Christian music publisher Capitol CMG Publishing, it was announced April 15. The deal includes Leonard’s full catalog and future releases.

Leonard has written and produced songs for artists including William Murphy, Anthony Hamilton and his wife Tasha Cobbs Leonard.



Independent music publisher Angry Mob Music has signed a worldwide joint venture with Nashville-based publisher Demolition Music to sign songwriter-producer Evan Coffman. The deal covers both future works and all songs written by Coffman since he ended his agreement with Starstruck Writers Group in 2018.

Under the joint venture, Demolition will set up Coffman’s work in Nashville with co-writing opportunities as well as seek cuts for his catalog. Angry Mob will handle pop and synch co-writes in Los Angeles and oversee synch pitching and publishing administration.

Coffman co-wrote the Waterloo Revival song “Backwood Bump,” which was featured in rotation on ESPN’s College Game Day. He also produced and co-wrote the track “Right Now” for Caroline Kole. Neither track is included in the new deal.