Skip to main content

Executive Turntable: UMG’s Bravado Names Licensing Head; 4AD Taps US/UK Label Managers

Also this week: FaZe Clan has a new president/COO and YMU launches a U.S. entertainment division.

Bravado, Universal Music Group’s merchandise and brand management company, expanded the job responsibilities of Lisa Streff to oversee the licensing rosters and global licensing strategies of both Bravado and Epic Rights, which Bravado acquired in 2019, while reporting to Jesper Poulsen, general manager at Bravado. Her clients now include KISS, AC/DC, Def Leppard, David Bowie, John Lennon, Britney Spears and NSYNC, along with Bravado clients such as The Rolling Stones, Black Sabbath, Sex Pistols, Run DMC, Beastie Boys, Spice Girls, Avril Lavigne and many more. She can be reached at Lisa.streff@epicrights.com.

Related

4AD promoted Alyssa DeBonis to U.S. label manager in New York, Sophie Hall to U.K. label manager in London, Will Tompsett to worldwide head of marketing in New York and Isa Castro-Cota as U.S. communications manager in New York. DeBonis will oversee 4AD’s U.S. team and manage all campaigns while Hall will spearhead all campaigns in the U.K. and the world outside of the U.S. Castro-Cota can be reached at isacastrocota@4ad.com.

Zach Katz was named president and COO at lifestyle and media platform FaZe Clan, where he will oversee FaZe Clan’s content, talent, merchandise, consumer goods, sponsorships and esports businesses while reporting to CEO Lee Trink. He will work closely with the senior leadership team to grow the brand, prioritizing global expansion and developing new revenue-driving verticals while also focusing on building internal systems that maximize efficiency.

YMU launched a U.S. entertainment division under the leadership of UTA veteran April Tombs, who has been named managing director, YMU Entertainment U.S. Also appointed to the U.S. team were Spencer Goldstein from UTA and Jared Greenwald from ICM.

Starr Butler-Jemison joined OVG360 as senior vp of content development & private events in Detroit, where she will oversee a new division focused on innovative private functions, major corporate events and content development across the OVG360 universe, which encompasses 300+ arenas, stadiums and convention centers. She starts in the role on July 5 and will report to OVG360 president Chris Granger.

Nettwerk Music Group added several to its A&R team, including Meg Tarquinio as vp of strategy and A&R in New York, Spencer Kelley as A&R in New York/London, Marshall Altman as VP of A&R in Nashville, Mark Abramowitz as director of A&R in Nashville, Eric Robinson as director of A&R in Los Angeles and Dan Medland as Australia strategy & A&R in Sydney. Tarquinio can be reached at mtarquinio@nettwerk.com, Kelley can be reached at skelley@nettwerk.com, Altman can be reached at maltman@nettwerk.com, Abramowitz can be reached at mabramowitz@nettwerk.com, Robinson can be reached at erobinson@nettwerk.com and Medland can be reached at dmedland@nettwerk.com.

Saban Music Group announced two new executive hires for the company’s Saban Music Latin department: Liz Leyva joined the team as vp of Latin marketing while Cristobal Brito was hired as senior director of Latin A&R. Both will “spearhead a new of era of Latin artists” and report to Alejandro Reglero, Saban Music Latin’s executive vp and general manager. Leyva can be reached at LLeyva@sabanmusic.com and Brito can be reached at CBrito@sabanmusic.com.

Rick Butterworth joined ONErpm as director of business development for Australia, New Zealand and Southeast Asia as the company expands to those markets. Based in Brisbane, Australia, Butterworth will oversee the business development of all three markets while reporting to ONErpm CEO Emmanuel Zunz. He can be reached at Rbutterworth@onerpm.com.

Jolene Herz was named vp of booking for the Kia Forum in Inglewood, California. Her role has been expanded to overseeing all live events at the venue, where she will continue to report to Geni Lincoln, general manager and senior vp of live events at the venue. She can be reached at Jolene.Herz@thekiaforum.com.

Julia Hummel was named vp of digital strategy & business development at Warner Music Canada in Toronto, where she will help the label’s artists leverage opportunities in the web3 arena while reporting to Warner Music Canada executive vp and general manager Andy West.

MNRK Music Group promoted Tasha Stoute to senior director of urban publicity and Vinny Geonnetti to director of artist management, A&R, publishing. The company also hired JY Williams as director of A&R. Based in New York, Stoute will continue to develop and execute campaigns for MNRK’s urban divisions while working closely with the label’s marketing and sales teams. The Los Angeles-based Geonnetti will assist with the strategy and development of new and established artists for the music publishing team, including managing sessions, fostering opportunities and pairing writers and other possible collaborators. Williams, who founded the companies Lifted Lights and VisionPlay Entertainment, is based in New York.

Chad Kudelka joined Creative Artists Agency (CAA) as an agent in the music touring department. He will split his time between Austin, Texas and the agency’s Nashville office. He can be reached at chad.kudelka@caa.com.

Livestream buying and selling platform talkshoplive hired John Hall as CTO and Tony Grotticelli as vp of marketing. Both will be tasked with helping expand the company, which has set a goal of increasing its team by 300% by the end of 2023. Grotticelli can be reached at Tony@talkshop.live.

Acast appointed former Audible and Verizon CMO John Harrobin and SHE Media CEO Samantha Skey to its board. Harrobin was also elected chairman of the board. Both are the first U.S.-based appointments to the Acast board, bolstering Acast’s goal of growing its market share in the U.S. and surrounding regions. They can be reached at john.harrobin@acast.com and samantha.skey@acast.com.

Caitlin Haurie was hired as senior director of creative synch – ads & brands at Position Music. She’ll report to Emily Weber, Position Music’s vp, head of synch. She can be reached at caitlin@positionmusic.com.

Tim Hare was named senior director of synch at production, publishing and sound design company Ghostwriter Music, where he will lead the company’s synch department for advertising and TV. He’ll also work alongside internal A&R staff to develop the company’s catalog and artist series while maintaining a strong company-wide business development focus. He can be reached at tim@ghostwritermusic.com.