Skip to main content

Spoon Signs to Loma Vista; Album Expected Soon

Spoon, the Austin-based rock band, has signed to Loma Vista, the label started by former Warner Bros. Records' honcho Tom Whalley.

Austin-based indie rock band Spoon has signed to Loma Vista, the label started by former Warner Bros. Records’ chairman/CEO Tom Whalley. Loma Vista declined to comment on the signing but two sources verified the deal though exact terms were not disclosed.

Since 2000 the band has been signed to Merge Records, the label based out of Chapel Hill, North Carolina run by Mac McCaughan & Laura Ballance of Superchunk.

An announcement for a new Spoon album is expected soon. A post on the band’s Tumblr in March said the band was “less than a week away from a finished album” and was accompanied by a video (below) containing a snippet of likely new music by Spoon.

This past January, Spoon returned to touring and posted the following on their Facebook:

“Some bands don’t exactly live for the part of it where they go out and make public performances. Some do not love to ‘tour.’ We have little sympathy. We are superbuzzed that we’re about to get back into doing shows again and are really pleased to announce the first couple of spoon shows in almost two years: at shaky knees fest in atlanta in may and at governor’s ball in new york city in june.”

Related Articles

Since that post the band has added a number of high-profile tour dates, including upcoming stops in Los Angeles (Hollywood Forever Cemetery), Toronto (NXNE), Las Vegas (Brooklyn Bowl Vegas), Chicago (Lollapalooza), San Francisco (Outside Lands) and Austin (ACL) as well as shows in Barcelona, Berlin and London.

Loma Vista, is part of Whalley’s Seven Four Ent., which in 2012 signed a deal with Universal Republic. The label’s growing roster now includes St. Vincent, Little Dragon and Rhye.

Spoon’s previous album, their seventh since forming in 1993, was 2010’s “Transference” (Merge). The band was previously signed to Matador and Elektra.

Frontman Britt Daniel released an album in 2012 with the Divine Fits which included Dan Boeckner (Handsome Furs and Wolf Parade) and Sam Brown (New Bomb Turks, The Sun).