Skip to main content

Royksopp & Robyn’s ‘Again,’ Idina Menzel’s Remixed ‘Go’ Crown Dance Charts

Norwegian duo Royksopp (Svein Berge and Torbjørn Brundtland) and Swedish singer Robyn team up for each act’s first Dance/Electronic Albums No. 1, as the EP “Do It Again” bows with 15,000 copies sold, according to Nielsen SoundScan. Meanwhile, the set’s title cut single rockets up Hot Dance/Electronic Songs (27-19), sporting a 28 percent gain to 405,000 U.S. streams (with 86 percent from Spotify), according to Nielsen BDS.

Robyn and Röyksopp’s ‘Accidental Pop’ Gem: Inside The Making of ‘Do It Again’

Royksopp and Robyn are planning a European and U.S. summer tour in support of “Do It Again” (which also enters the Billboard 200 at No. 13). The project marks the second time that Royksopp and Robyn have collaborated, following their 2009 Grammy Award-nominated track “The Girl and the Robot.”
‘FROZEN’ REHEATED: Idina Menzel earns her first No. 1 on Dance Club Songs with “Let It Go” (2-1). Originally a ballad from the “Frozen” soundtrack (with the song in its original form having reached No. 9 on Adult Contemporary), “Go” was remixed by Armin van Buuren for Disney’s “Dconstructed” compilation. Additional remixes have arrived from Dave Aude and Papercha$er, among others.
“Go” is Menzel’s fourth Dance Club Songs entry. She tallied two prior top five hits: “Defying Gravity” (No. 5) in 2007 and “Gorgeous” (No. 3) in 2008.

DANCE, BABY: Nari & Milani and Cristian Marchi’s “I Got My Eye On You” (featuring vocalist Luciana), originally released in 2011, takes the Hot Shot Debut tag on Dance/Electronic Songs at No. 14, thanks to its inclusion in a viral YouTube video featuring two dancing Korean babies (of course!). The clip drew 1.2 million U.S. streams in the week ending June 1, up from 16,000 in the prior frame.
‘BASS DROP’S IN: The Lonely Island debuts at No. 22 on Hot Dance/Electronic Songs with the EDM-culture parody “When Will the Bass Drop” (featuring Lil Jon and Sam F), powered by 13,000 downloads sold. The song’s video, first aired as an “SNL Digital Short” during the May 17 season finale of NBC’s “Saturday Night Live,” stars Andy Samberg as Daviinci, a fictional superstar DJ seemingly based on David Guetta and Avicii.
“Bass” drops onto Dance/Electronic Digital Songs at No. 11, while arriving as the Lonely Island’s eighth No. 1 on Comedy Digital Tracks.
MAU5 TALE: Deadmau5 debuts on Hot Dance/Electronic Songs at No. 25 with “Seeya” (11,000 sold), a second track from his double-album “while(1<2),” due June 17. The funky house song, featuring vocals from Colleen D’Agostino, follows the instrumental “Avaritia,” which debuted last week at No. 22.  A third track, the nine-and-a-half minute journey “Infra Turbo Pigcart Racer,” was released for digital purchase on Wednesday (June 4).