Skip to main content

Nile Rodgers to Be Honored With Chairman’s Award at 2018 Music Biz Conference

The Music Business Association announced today (Mar. 5) Nile Rodgers will be the 2018 recipient of its Chairman's Award for Sustained Creative Achievements.

The Music Business Association (Music Biz) announced today that Nile Rodgers will be the 2018 recipient of its Chairman’s Award for Sustained Creative Achievements. The multiple-Grammy-winning composer, producer, arranger and guitarist will be honored with the award at the 60th anniversary Music Biz Conference‘s award luncheon on May 17 at the Omni Nashville Hotel. 

Over a career spanning more than 40 years, Rodgers has been sold over 300 million albums and 50 million singles worldwide, both as a member of Chic and as a producer for albums from such artists as David Bowie, Madonna, Diana Ross, Sister Sledge, Duran Duran and more. Notably, Rodgers collaborated with Daft Punk on Random Access Memories and that album’s lead single “Get Lucky,” which earned three Grammys in 2014. He is currently working on an album with Chic, the first new music form the group in nearly 25 years. 

“Nile’s music truly stands the test of time. He not only helped define the sound of pop, disco, and hip-hop in the 1970s, ’80s, and ’90s but also continues his prolific work on hits with modern artists such as Daft Punk, Avicii, Disclosure and Sam Smith, not to mention his own upcoming album with Chic,” said Music Biz Chairman Fred Beteille. “His longevity and repeated successes make him the ideal candidate for our Chairman’s Award. I’m honored and excited to recognize him for his important contributions to music over the past four decades.”


Rodgers’ prolific career has earned him a number of honors in addition to the Chariman’s Award. The artist has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Songwriters Hall of Fame, and the Dance Music Hall of Fame; received the EBONY Icon Award at the 2017 EBONY Power 100 Gala; was awarded the “Ordre des Arts et des Lettres” by the French Embassy in New York; was elected to the Recording Academy’s Board of Governors and received the organization’s President’s Merit Award during the 8th Annual GRAMMY Week Celebration for the Producers & Engineers Wing; and had Chic’s Platinum-selling single “Le Freak” inducted into the GRAMMY Hall of Fame.

The Chairman’s Award for Sustained Creative Achievement recognizes superior and continuing artistic achievement within the industry, dating back to 1964. Past winners include Lionel Richie, Brian Wilson, Cyndi Lauper, Daryl Hall & John Oates, Chicago, Kool & The Gang, Quincy Jones, Carlos Santana, Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Wonder, Elton John, Garth Brooks, Leonard Bernstein, Michael Jackson, Barbra Streisand, Frank Sinatra, and many more.