Skip to main content

NCT 127’s ‘We Are Superhuman’ Debuts at No. 1 on World Albums & No. 11 on Billboard 200

South Korean boy band NCT 127's We Are Superhuman makes a big splash on Billboard's charts (dated June 8).

South Korean boy band NCT 127‘s We Are Superhuman makes a big splash on Billboard‘s charts (dated June 8).

The K-pop group’s new EP debuts at No. 11 on the Billboard 200 (dated June 8) with 27,000 equivalent album units earned in the week ending May 30, according to Nielsen Music.

Among all K-pop groups in the Billboard 200’s history, only BTS has charted higher, having earned four top 10 albums to date, including three No. 1s.

The Billboard 200 chart ranks the most popular albums of the week in the U.S. based on multi-metric consumption as measured in equivalent album units. Units are comprised of traditional album sales, track equivalent albums (TEA) and streaming equivalent albums (SEA). The new chart, which Billie Eilish’s When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? leads for a third total week, will post in full on tomorrow (June 4).


We Are Superhuman marks NCT 127’s second career entry on the Billboard 200. The group’s debut studio album Regular-Irregular debuted and peaked at No. 86 in October 2018.

The new release concurrently debuts at No. 1 on the World Albums chart, earning NCT 127 its second No. 1 on the survey, after EP Limitless: The 2nd Mini Album in January 2017.

It also opens at No. 1 on the all-genre Top Album Sales chart, helping NCT 127 join BTS as just the second K-pop act to hit No. 1 on the ranking. BTS has sent three albums to No. 1 on Top Album Sales: Love Yourself: AnswerLove Yourself: Tear and Map of the Soul: PERSONA.

Over on the World Digital Song Sales chart, the new EP’s “Superhuman” debuts at No. 3 (1,000 downloads sold). The track becomes the group’s seventh top 10 and first since its first No. 1, “Simon Says,” in December.

NCT 127 is the second sub-unit of the boy group NCT (an acronym for Neo Culture Technology) and consists of 10 members: Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Doyoung, Jaehyun, Winwin, Jungwoo, Mark and Haechan.