Skip to main content

MLB Playoffs: All the Intro Songs Revealed

Walk-up music is nothing new, but the way Billboard has painstakingly analyzed it sure is. The same way general managers might look at statistics, we've broken down each of the four remaining teams…

There’s a lot more than organ music at baseball games these days. Unless we’re talking Chicago’s Wrigley Field (the only stadium that sticks to the classic organ sounds), every MLB player has the opportunity to step to the plate with his own, hand-picked introduction anthem. Walk-up music is nothing new, but the way Billboard has painstakingly analyzed it sure is. The same way general managers might look at statistics, we’ve broken down each of the four League Championship Series teams — the Giants, Cardinals, Orioles, and Royals — by their players’ intro tunes.


From a list of their preferred tunes, it’s clear these athletes are big fans of rap, rock, country and Latin. Check out our analysis below:

Read the full list of songs below!

Baltimore Orioles:

Zach Britton – AC/DC, “For Those About to Rock”
Kevin Gausman – Arctic Monkeys, “Do I Wanna Know?”
Miguel Gonzalez – Mark Morrison, “Return of the Mack”
Tommy Hunter – Coheed and Cambria, “Welcome Home”
Ubaldo Jimenez – Celia Cruz, “Rie Y Llora”
Andrew Miller – Johnny Cash, “God’s Gonna Cut You Down”
Bud Norris – Iamsu!, “I Love My Squad”
Darren O’Day – Black Keys, “Thickfreakness”
Chris Tillman – Brantley Gilbert, “Kick it in the Sticks”
Nick Hundley – Turnpike Troubadours, “Long Hot Summer”
Caleb Joseph – Bone Collector, “Duck Blind”
Ryan Flaherty – Kid Ink, “Money And The Power”
J.J. Hardy – Moby, “Flower”
Kelly Johnson – Rage Against the Machine, “Bulls On Parade”
Jonathan Schoop – Rich Homie Quan, “Walk Thru”
Nelson Cruz – Juan Luis Guerra 440, “Para Ti”
Alejandro de Aza – Don Miguelo, “Como Yo Le Doy”
Adam Jones – Meek Mill, “Bout That Life”
David Lough – Blackmill, “The Drift”
Nick Markakis – Bubba Sparxxx, “Deliverance”
Steve Pearce – AC/DC, “Thunderstruck”
Delmon Young – Wiz Khalifa, “We Dem Boys”
Brian Matusz – Jimi Hendrix , “Voodoo Chile”
Chris Davis – Red, “The Moment We Come Alive”

Kansas City Royals:

Aaron Crow – Dada Life, “Born to Rage”
Alcides Escobar – Wisin, “Que Viva la Vida”
Alcides Escobar – Nicky Jam, “Travesuras (Official Remix”
Alez Gordon – Justin Timberlake, “Only When I Walk Away”
Billy Butler – Florida Georgia Line, “Dirt”
Danny Duffy – Rebelution, “De-Stress”
Eric Hosmer – Trillville, “Some Cut”
Erik Kratz – Skillet, “Collide” and Skillet, “Hero”
Greg Holland – Breaking Benjamin, “Fade Away”
James Shields – Sevendust, “Decay”
Jarrod Dyson – Dr. Dre, “Still Dre”
Jason Frasor – Black Crowes, “Remedy”
Jayson Nix – Metallica, “No Leaf Clover”
Jeremy Guthrie – Justin Timberlake, “Gimme What I Don’t Know (I Want)” and Justin Timberlake, “Murder”
Josh Willingham – Building 429, “Glory Defined” and The Outfield, “Your Love”
Kelvin Herrera – Tego Calderon, “El Abayarde”
Lorenzo Cain – Rich Homie Quan, “Type of Way”
Mike Moustakas – Bone Thugs n Harmony, “Tha Crossroads”
Nori Aoki – Flo Rida, “Right Round”
Omar Infante – Gucci Boys Club, “Archangel,” Daddy Yankee, “Limbo,” and Pitbull, “Sube Las Manos Pa Arriba”
Raul Ibanez – Scorpions, “Crossfire,” Dr. Dre, “Forgot About Dre”
Salvador Perez – Jose Reyes, “No Hay Amigo”
Scott Downs – Jake Owen, “Eight Second Ride”
Tim Collins – Jim Johnston, “I Won’t Do What You Tell Me (Stone Cold)”
Wade Davis – Dr. Dre, “Ackrite”
Yordano Ventura – Humo, “Excusame” (feat. El Alfa) “Musicologo The Libro”

San Francisco Giants:

Gregor Blanco – Damian, “Jr. Gong” Marley, “Welcome to Jamrock” and Yellow Claw, “DJ Turn It Up”
Joe Panik – Jay Z, “Dirt Off Your Shoulder”
Andrew Susac – Anberlin, “Feel Good Drag”
Gary Brown – Phoenix, “Trying to Be Cool”
Joaquin Arias – Wiz Khalifa, “Goin’ Up (Instrumental)”
Brandon Belt – Jay Z, “99 Problems”
Brandon Crawford – Eminem, “Berzerk,” Drake, “0 to 100” and Andre Nickatina & Equipto, “Jungle”
Hunter Pence – White Zombie, “More Human Than Human”
Pablo Sandoval – Arcangel, “Del Envidioso Me Rio”
Matt Duffy – Florida Georgia Line, “It’z Just What We Do” and Jake Owen, “Anywhere With You”
Adam Duvall – Chase Rice, “Ready Set Roll”
Tyler Colvin – Randy Houser, “Sunshine On The Line”
Buster Posey – Brantley Gilbert, “Hell on Wheels”
Chris Dominguez – Black Keys, “Lonely Boy”
Michael Morse – Mystikal, “The Man Right Chea,” Phil Collins, “In the Air Tonight,” a-ha, “Take On Me,” Yo Gotti Feat. Young Jeezy & YG, “Act Right”
Juan Perez – Secreto “El Famoso Biberon,” “No Aguanta La Presion”
Tim Hudson – John Legend (Afroganic mix), “Green Light” and Billy Squier, “The Stroke”
Tim Lincecum – Sammy Hagar, “I Can’t Drive 55” and Empire of the Sun, “Awakening”
Angel Pagan – Calle 13, “Baile De Los Pobres” and Nicky Romero (Bare remix), “Symphonica” and Tempo Feat. Polaco, “El Tartaro Y El Narco”
Madison Bumgarner – The Marshall Tucker Band, “Fire on the Mountain”
Matt Cain – Eric Church, “The Outsiders”
Ryan Vogelsong – Alter Bridge, “Metalingus”
Jake Peavy – Tim Flannery, “Son of a Coal Minin’ Man”
Santiago Casilla – Living Colour, “Cult of Personality”
Jeremy Affeldt – Pillar, “Fireproof”
Juan Gutierrez – Tego Calderon, “Sandungueoso”
Javier Lopez – Zion I Feat. K. Flay, “Coastin'”
George Kontos – Metallica, “Harvester of Sorrow”
Sergio Romo – Banda MS, “El Mechon”
Hunter Strickland – Hank Williams Jr., “Southern Thunder”

St. Louis Cardinals:

Jon Jay – Jay Z, “Public Service Announcement” and DJ Khaled Featuring Pitbull, Trick Daddy & Rick Ross, “Born And Raised”
Matt Holliday – NeedToBreathe, “The Heart”
Pete Kozma – Godsmack, “Keep Away”
A.J. Pierzynski – Disturbed, “Down With The Sickness”
Randall Grichuk – Florida Georgia Line, “This Is How We Roll”
Daniel Descalso – Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Dani California”
Mark Ellis – One Republic, “Love Runs Out”
Yadier Molina – Arcangel, “Tremenda Sata”
Peter Borjous – Dr. Dre, “Still D.R.E. (Instrumental)”
Matt Carpenter – Turnpike Troubadours, “Long Hot Summer Day”
Matt Adams – Brantley Gilbert, “Bottoms Up”
Oscar Taveras – Don Miguelo, “Claro De Ti”
Jhonny Peralta – El Mayor, “Bello”
Adam Wainwright – Alabama, “Song Of The South”
Lance Lynn – Hank Williams Jr., “Country Boy Can Survive”
Shelby Miller – Florida Georgia Line, “Here’s To The Good Times”
Trevor Rosenthal – Jorge Quintero, “300 Violin Orchestra”
Kolten Wong – Ky-Mani Marley, “The Heart”

Back in April, Billboard previewed the 2014 MLB season by speaking to fans of each squad from the music world. Want to check in and see how they did? Here are our musician previews of baseball’s final four:

Joan Jett on the Baltimore Orioles

The Get Up Kids on the Kansas City Royals

David Nail on the St. Louis Cardinals

Asher Roth and Scott McCaughey on the San Francisco Giants