Skip to main content

Milestone Award Finalists Announced for 2014 Billboard Music Awards

Imagine Dragons, John Legend, Luke Bryan, OneRepublic, Ellie Goulding and Carrie Underwood are the six Milestone Award finalists at the 2014 Billboard Music Awards, to be held May 18 at the MGM Grand…

Imagine Dragons, John Legend, Luke Bryan, OneRepublic, Ellie Goulding and Carrie Underwood are the six Milestone Award finalists at the 2014 Billboard Music Awards, to be held May 18 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.


Billboard is giving fans an opportunity to play a big part in the celebration. Fans voting for their favorite finalist will determine who takes home the Milestone trophy at the BBMAs. Supporters can also enter into a contest for a chance to present the award live at the gala alongside R&B superstar and Billboard Music Award winner Kelly Rowland.


Chevrolet is presenting the second annual Milestone Award, a special editorial category that will be given to an innovative artist who has achieved a notable chart milestone over the past year.

“I’m really looking forward to presenting the Chevrolet Milestone Award at this year’s Billboard Music Awards. I love being able to recognize fellow artists for their accomplishments and having the opportunity to present with a fan will make the evening that much more exciting,” says Rowland.

Fans can vote and find more details at Billboard.com/milestone. The prize includes two tickets to the show, hotel accommodations and airfare. To enter, fans must submit a photo along with an essay about why they think they should present the award.

The six Milestone finalists will be whittled-down to a shortlist of three, who will be announced at Billboard.com on April 21, the date entries close. Voting will then continue through the first two hours of the live 2014 Billboard Music Awards broadcast, culminating with the announcement of the award winner during the last hour of the show. Justin Bieber was last year’s Milestone winner.

The 2014 Billboard Music Awards is produced by dick clark productions and will be aired live on ABC at 8:00 PM ET/PT. Allen Shapiro and Mike Mahan are executive producers, and Larry Klein is producer.

The complete list of finalists for the “2014 Billboard Music Awards” will be announced soon.