Skip to main content

Lucian Grainge, Mo Ostin & More to Receive Hollywood Walk of Fame Stars in 2020

Grainge and Ostin will receive shiny new stars alongside Billy Idol, Elvis Costello, 50 Cent, Alicia Keys and others.

Universal Music Group CEO Lucian Grainge and veteran record executive Mo Ostin are among the figures who will receive shiny new stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame next year.

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce announced its Class of 2020 on Thursday (June 20), with Grainge and Ostin included in the recording category alongside Billy Idol, Elvis Costello, 50 Cent, Alicia Keys, Alejandro Sanz, Bobby Rydell, Tanya Tucker, Andy Madadian and (posthumously) Muddy Waters. Ostin, the legendary former CEO of the now-rebranded Warner Records, was also inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2003.

How does one score a brass-and-terrazzo star at the popular California tourist attraction? Anyone can submit a nomination for their favorite celebrity — but if that nomination is approved by the chamber committee, whoever submitted it must be willing to pony up a $30,000 fee. This might be the reason that some obvious icons (like Beyoncé, for example) are still star-less.


On the motion picture side, this year’s inductees include Spike Lee, Chris Hemsworth and Julia Roberts, with Wendy Williams, Dr. Phil and others awarded in the television category.