Skip to main content

Dillon Francis Fires Up First No. 1 on Top Dance/Electronic Albums

The DJ leads with his new EP. Plus, chart action for FKA Twigs, the Americanos, Calvin Harris & Disclosure.

Dillon Francis scores his first No. 1 on Billboard‘s Top Dance/Electronic Albums chart (dated Sept. 5) with This Mixtape Is Fire. The EP starts with 9,000 sold, according to Nielsen Music, on par with (although slightly less than, before rounding off) the starting sum of his first album, Money Sucks Friends Rule, which debuted and peaked at No. 2 in November 2014.

The EDM DJ also charts two tracks from the new release on Hot Dance/Electronic Songs: “Coming Over,” with Kygo and featuring James Hersey (new at No. 24), and “Bun Up the Dance,” with Skrillex (a re-entry at No. 44). A track released earlier, “Bruk Bruk (I Need Your Lovin),” hit No. 38 in July. In addition to Kygo and Skrillex, Mixtape contains collaborations with Calvin Harris (“What’s Your Name”), Bro Safari (“Pull It”) and Chromeo (“Lies”).


FKA TWIGS DEBUTS: Francis fends off indie-electronic favorite FKA Twigs, who begins at No. 2 on Top Dance/Electronic Albums with her EP M3LL155X (7,000). Twigs (real name Tahliah Barnett) debuted at No. 1 last September with LP1, the follow-up to her first chart entry, 2013’s No. 5-peaking EP2. LP1, which has sold 77,000 to date, leaps 17-13 (up 66 percent) in the wake of the new set’s arrival. Released on Young Turks, M3LL155X  also debuts on Independent Albums (No. 5).

ALL-STAR AMERICANOS: Turning back to Hot Dance/Electronic Songs, new at No. 47 is the debut single from the Americanos, “BlackOut.” The production trio (DJ Felli Fel, Louie Rubio and Lex Larson) teams with featured acts Lil Jon, Juicy J and Tyga for the single, which sold 5,000 (and bolts onto Dance/Electronic Digital Songs at No. 18). “BlackOut” marks the second time that Lil Jon and Tyga have shared a Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart hit, as “Bend Ova,” credited to Lil Jon featuring Tyga, reached No. 10 nearly a year ago.

“BlackOut” is from the We Are Your Friends soundtrack and is one of two debuts from the set: “I Can Be Somebody,” by Deorro featuring Erin McCarley, starts at No. 40. Three tracks that previously charted are also on the soundtrack (two in remixed form): AlunaGeorge‘s “You Know You Like It” (Tchami Remix) (the song reached No. 30 in May); Years & Years’ “Desire” (Gryffin Remix) (No. 21, April); and Oliver $ & Jimi Jules’ “Pushing On” (No. 20, September 2014).

‘HOW’ HIGH: Shifting to Dance/Mix Show Airplay, Calvin Harris heralds his 11th top 10, “How Deep Is Your Love” (11-10). The single, with Disciples, had already hit the top 10 on Dance/Electronic Digital Songs (No. 4), Hot Dance/Electronic Songs (No. 5) and Dance/Electronic Streaming Songs (No. 5). “Deep” could soon add Dance Club Songs to its top 10 resume; it darts 31-21 on the chart.

FULL DISCLOSURE, THEY’RE No. 1: Speaking of Dance Club Songs, Disclosure posts its first No. 1 on the list with “Holding On” (2-1). Featuring Grammy-winning jazz vocalist Gregory Porter, the track sports remixes from, among others, Armand Van Helden, Julio Bashmore and Mele.

Meanwhile, the follow-up to “Holding On,” the budding mainstream hit “Omen” (which lifts 36-34 on Pop Songs and 88-83 on the Billboard Hot 100), drives 36-25 in its second week on Dance Club Songs. Featuring Sam Smith, “Omen” thus far sports remixes from Richard Cutmore and Jonas Rathsman.