Skip to main content

The Black Keys Claim Fifth No. 1 on Rock & Alternative Airplay Chart With ‘Wild Child’

It's their first ruler since "Lo/Hi" in 2019.

The Black Keys earn their fifth No. 1 on Billboard‘s Rock & Alternative Airplay chart, as “Wild Child” lifts to the top of the ranking dated May 21.

The song earned 6.8 million audience impressions, up 6%, in the week ending May 15, according to Luminate.

It’s the duo’s first ruler since “Lo/Hi,” which crowned the chart for eight weeks in 2019. The pair first led for 12 weeks with “Tighten Up” in 2010-11. The group’s other two No. 1s: “Lonely Boy” (14 weeks, 2011-12) and “Fever” (13 weeks, 2014).

Between “Lo/Hi” and “Child,” The Black Keys appeared on the chart three times, paced by the No. 5-peaking “Go” in 2019.


The Black Keys tie Imagine Dragons for the fifth-most Rock & Alternative Airplay leaders in the chart’s nearly 13-year history. Foo Fighters lead all acts with nine No. 1s.

Most No. 1s, Rock & Alternative Airplay

  • 9, Foo Fighters
  • 6, Cage the Elephant
  • 6, Green Day
  • 6, Twenty One Pilots
  • 5, The Black Keys
  • 5, Imagine Dragons
  • 3, Linkin Park
  • 3, Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • 3, Weezer

Rock & Alternative Airplay marks the third radio-based chart that “Child” has topped. The song first led Adult Alternative Airplay in April and rebounds for its fourth week at No. 1 on the latest list. It also spends a second week at No. 1 on Alternative Airplay. With the track, The Black Keys upped their counts to seven and six leaders on the respective format charts.

“Child” is the first song to dominate Alternative Airplay, Adult Alternative Airplay and Rock & Alternative Airplay simultaneously since Coldplay‘s “Orphans” on the charts dated Jan. 4, 2020.

“Child” also continues to climb Mainstream Rock Airplay (12-11).

On the multi-metric Hot Rock & Alternative Songs chart, “Child” bullets at No. 23, after debuting at its No. 21 high in March. It drew 823,000 official U.S. streams and sold 500 downloads, in addition to its radio airplay, in the May 6-12 tracking week.

“Child” is the lead single from Dropout Boogie, The Black Keys’ 11th studio album, which was released May 13 and will impact the Billboard charts dated May 28.