Skip to main content

Big Time Rush, ‘Man of Steel’ Soundtrack Heading for Top 10 on Billboard 200

Big Time Rush and the “Man of Steel” film soundtrack are heading for top 10 debuts on the Billboard 200 albums chart next week. Industry sources suggest Big Time Rush’s new “24/Seven” album could sell around 45,000 copies by the end of the tracking week on Sunday, June 16. The “Man of Steel” soundtrack — an instrumental score album by Hans Zimmer — might move around 30,000.

The new Billboard 200 chart’s top 10 will be revealed on the morning of Wednesday, June 19.

A start of 45,000 would be the vocal quartet’s smallest debut so far. Big Time Rush’s last release, 2011’s “Elevate,” moved 70,000 in its first week, for a No. 12 entry, according to Nielsen SoundScan. Before that, their “BTR” debut in 2010 moved 67,000 in its opening frame (a No. 3 bow).

Big Time Rush’s “24/Seven” might debut at No. 3 on next week’s chart, behind the likely new No. 1, Black Sabbath’s “13.” The latter title is set for a start of around 120,000, securing the band’s first No. 1 and its best sales week in the SoundScan era (1991-present).

At the present, it seems like Daft Punk’s “Random Access Memories” should hold at No. 2 with around 40,000.

Zimmer’s “Man of Steel” score soundtrack could debut in the top five on the chart, which would be the highest-charting instrumental score album since Daft Punk’s “TRON: Legacy” hit No. 4 in January of 2011. “Man of Steel” opened in U.S. movie theaters on Friday, June 14.

An instrumental score set was most recently in the top 10 just a year ago, when Zimmer’s “Dark Knight Rises” soundtrack debuted and peaked at No. 8 on the chart dated Aug. 4, 2012.

Other albums aiming for top 20 debuts next week include: Goo Goo Dolls’ “Magnetic” (30,000), the Lonely Island’s “The Wack Album” (25,000), Jimmy Eat World’s “Damage” (20,000) and Chrisette Michele’s “Better” (20,000). 

On SoundScan’s Building chart (below), Black Sabbath is No. 1, followed by Big Time Rush and Daft Punk, respectively, at Nos. 2 and 3. The Building tally is a precursor to the final Billboard 200 ranking — reflecting the first four days (Monday through Thursday) of SoundScan’s tracking week as reported by six major merchants.

As for the rest of the top 10: the Lonely Island, Goo Goo Dolls and Michele are Nos. 4-6. Darius Rucker’s “True Believers” follows at No. 7, Florida Georgia Line’s “Here’s to the Good Times” places at No. 8 and the “Man of Steel” soundtrack is No. 9. Imagine Dragon’s “Night Visions” closes out the top 10 at No. 10.

Nielsen SoundScan Building Chart
Rank LW
BB 200
Artist Title
1 NEW Black Sabbath “13”
2 NEW Big Time Rush “24/Seven”
3 2 Daft Punk “Random Access Memories”
4 NEW The Lonely Island “The Wack Album”
5 NEW Goo Goo Dolls “Magnetic”
6 NEW Chrisette Michele “Better”
7 5 Darius Rucker “True Believers”
8 8 Florida Georgia Line “Here’s to the Good Times”
9 NEW Soundtrack “Man of Steel”
10 7 Imagine Dragons “Night Visions”
The Building Chart reflects the first four days (Monday through Thursday) of SoundScan’s tracking week (which ends Sunday) as reported by six major merchants: iTunes, Trans World Entertainment, Best Buy, Starbucks, Target and Anderson Merchandisers. Billboard estimates that they make up about 85% of all U.S. album sales.