Skip to main content

Beyonce’s Radio ‘Renaissance’ Continues as ‘Cuff It’ Tops R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay

The new champ secures the superstar's first year with multiple No. 1s on the chart since 2003.

Beyoncé reasserts her radio dominance on both the R&B/hip-hop and rhythmic formats as “Cuff It” follows the chart-topping success of “Break My Soul” earlier this year. “Cuff It” tops Billboard’s R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay chart (dated Dec. 10) and ensures the superstar’s first time with multiple No. 1s in the same year for the first time since 2003, as “Break My Soul” reigned for five weeks in August – September.

“Cuff” jumps from No. 3 after it registered a strong 24% weekly increase to 21.7 million in audience that made it the most-heard song on U.S. monitored R&B and hip-hop radio stations in the week ending Dec. 4, according to Luminate. The 4.2 million audience improvement also secures “Cuff” the weekly Greatest Gainer honor among the chart’s 50 songs.


The new champ is Beyoncé’s 10th No. 1 on the R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay chart as a solo artist. Here’s a rundown of Queen Bey’s chart-topping collection on the list:

  • “Crazy in Love,” featuring Jay-Z, four weeks at No. 1, beginning July 19, 2003
  • “Baby Boy,” featuring Sean Paul, five, Sept. 27, 2003
  • “Irreplaceable,” nine, Dec. 2, 2006
  • “Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It),” 12, Nov. 29, 2008
  • “Love on Top,” seven, March 10, 2012
  • “Drunk in Love,” featuring Jay-Z, eight, Feb. 1, 2014
  • “7/11,” five, Feb. 14, 2015
  • “Savage,” Megan Thee Stallion featuring Beyoncé, three, May 23, 2020
  • “Break My Soul,” five, Aug. 6, 2022
  • “Cuff It,” one (to date), Dec. 10, 2022

Plus, as Beyoncé enters the double-digit club with 10 No. 1s on R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay, she’s the first woman to earn that honor since the chart launched in 1992. Overall, she’s only the fourth member, joining Drake (28), Usher (15) and Lil Wayne (12).

Likewise, “Cuff It” captures the crown on the Rhythmic Airplay chart, where it leaps from No. 4 following an 18% surge in weekly plays that made it the most-played song on U.S. monitored rhythmic radio stations in the week ending Dec. 4. As on the R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay chart, the swell of activity ensures the chart’s Greatest Gainer honor for the new champ.

With “Cuff It,” Beyoncé pushes her solo career count to 12 No. 1s on Rhythmic Airplay. Here’s a look at the dozen chart-toppers:

  • “’03 Bonnie & Clyde,” Jay-Z featuring Beyoncé, three, Jan. 4, 2003
  • “Crazy in Love,” featuring Jay-Z, one, Aug. 9, 2003
  • “Baby Boy,” featuring Sean Paul, seven, Sept. 27, 2003
  • “Naughty Girl,” one, May 22, 2004
  • “Check on It,” featuring Slim Thug, one, March 4, 2006
  • “Irreplaceable,” seven, Dec. 30, 2006
  • “Sweet Dreams,” one, Nov. 28, 2009
  • “Drunk in Love,” featuring Jay-Z, three, March 1, 2014
  • “Shining,” DJ Khaled featuring Beyoncé & Jay-Z, one, May 13, 2017
  • “Savage,” Megan Thee Stallion featuring Beyoncé, two, May 30, 2020
  • “Break My Soul,” three, Aug. 20, 2022
  • “Cuff It,” one (to date), Dec. 10, 2022

Thanks to the one-two punch of “Soul” and “Cuff,” Beyoncé lands consecutive No. 1 charting singles on Rhythmic Airplay for the first time since “Naughty Girl” and “Check on It” combined forces. Plus, thanks to the same pair, parent album Renaissance is the superstar’s first with multiple chart-toppers at the radio format since Dangerously in Love launched “Crazy in Love,” “Baby Boy” and “Naughty Girl” in 2003-04.

With her now dozen Rhythmic Airplay No. 1s, Beyoncé is now one of seven artists with at least that many. Drake (36) leads the class, followed by Rihanna (17), Chris Brown, Bruno Mars, Usher (13 each) and equals Lil Wayne and The Weeknd’s career marks.

Beyond the two airplay No. 1s, the radio parade continues for “Cuff It” on Pop Airplay, where it climbs 18-16 with a 5% weekly gain in format plays. The combined success across different radio formats pushes the tune 11-8 on the all-genre Radio Songs chart. There, it improves 17% to 52.8 million in weekly audience. With “Cuff It” and “Break My Soul,” which reached No. 3 on the list, both from the Renaissance album, the superstar earns multiple top 10s from a single LP since I Am… Sasha Fierce sparked four in 2008-09: “If I Were a Boy” (No. 3), “Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)” (No. 1 for five weeks), “Halo” (No. 4) and “Sweet Dreams” (No. 2).