Skip to main content

Atlantic Records Is the Exclusive Music Partner for NBC’s ‘American Song Contest’

The label will A&R, record, release and market most of the 56 songs featured on the reality competition series.

Atlantic Records is the exclusive music partner for NBC’s forthcoming reality competition series American Song Contest, the label tells Billboard.

Hosted by Kelly Clarkson (an Atlantic artist) and Snoop Dogg and based on the Eurovision Song Contest, American Song Contest will see 56 artists – representing all 50 U.S. states, five U.S. territories and Washington, D.C. – compete to win the audience’s vote for best hit song, with each act performing one original song across three rounds.

Under the deal, Atlantic, which was also involved in casting the series, will A&R, record, release and market the majority of the 56 songs that derive from the show, including those from artists with pre-existing deals at other labels. The label is working in tandem with NBC on marketing efforts around the songs.


“Everyone who has a song being released as a track on Atlantic in connection with the show is going to get the full support of Atlantic Records, as we would market and promote any other artist on Atlantic,” says Atlantic president, West Coast Kevin Weaver, who notes that there “a couple” of Atlantic artists competing on the series.

Atlantic came into the deal through Weaver’s friendships with Ben Silverman, who brought the Eurovision format to the U.S. through his company Propagate Content, and American Song Contest showrunner Audrey Morrissey.

“Launching a new series is always a massive undertaking but mounting one that involves producing 56 original songs is a herculean task. Selecting the right label partner to dig in with us was crucial and we found the perfect partner in Atlantic Records,” said Morrissey. “We can’t wait for viewers to discover new music from our incredibly talented artists from across the country and help decide America’s next big song.”

Though several artists competing on American Song Contest have record deals outside of Atlantic, Weaver hopes that the label’s collaboration with unsigned competitors can potentially serve as a gateway to longer-term relationships after the series concludes.

“We’re in there developing relationships with these artists, super-serving their creative needs, helping to support them around the release of this music and their performance on the show,” Weaver says. “And that should seemingly lead to some broader relationships between Atlantic and some of these acts down the road.”

American Song Contest premieres March 21 and will run for eight weeks, with the grand finale slated for May 9. The full list of artists competing on the series can be found below.


Alabama: Ni/Co
Alaska: Jewel
American Samoa: Tenelle
Arizona: Las Marias
Arkansas: Kelsey Lamb
California: Sweet Taboo
Colorado: Riker Lynch
Connecticut: Michael Bolton
Delaware: Nitro Nitra
Florida: Ale Zabala
Georgia: Stela Cole
Guam: Jason J.
Hawaii: Bronson Varde
Idaho: Andrew Sheppard
Illinois: Justin Jesso
Indiana: UG skywalkin
Iowa: Alisabeth Von Presley
Kansas: Broderick Jones
Kentucky: Jordan Smith
Louisiana: Brittany Pfantz
Maine: King Kyote
Maryland: Sisqó
Massachusetts: Jared Lee
Michigan: Ada LeAnn
Minnesota: Yam Haus
Mississippi: Keyone Starr
Missouri: Brett Seper
Montana: Jonah Prill
Nebraska: Jocelyn
Nevada: The Crystal Method
New Hampshire: MARi
New Jersey: Brooke Alexx
New Mexico: Khalisol
New York: ENISA
North Carolina: John Morgan
North Dakota: Chloe Fredericks
Northern Mariana Islands: Sabyu
Ohio: Macy Gray
Oklahoma: AleXa
Oregon: courtship.
Pennsylvania: Bri Steves
Puerto Rico: Christian Pagán
Rhode Island: Hueston
South Carolina: Jesse LeProtti
South Dakota: Judd Hoos
Tennessee: Tyler Braden
Texas: Grant Knoche
U.S. Virgin Islands: Cruz Rock
Utah: Savannah Keyes
Vermont: Josh Panda
Virginia: Almira Zaky
Washington: Allen Stone
Washington, D.C.: NËITHER
West Virginia: Alexis Cunningham
Wisconsin: Jake’O
Wyoming: Ryan Charles