Skip to main content

Jack Harlow, UMPG Earn Top Honors at 2021 SESAC Pop Music Awards

At the 2021 SESAC Pop Music Awards, Jack Harlow won both songwriter of the year and song of the year for "Whats Poppin," while Universal Music Publishing Group was awarded publisher of the year.

Rapper Jack Harlow was named songwriter of the year at the 2021 SESAC Pop Music Awards, the performing rights organization announced on Thursday (Aug. 26). In addition, Harlow’s “Whats Poppin,” which reached No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100, was awarded song of the year. The song was published by Sony Music Publishing and Harlow Happenings.

Universal Music Publishing Group was honored as publisher of the year for the second time in a row at the virtual celebration.

“Although we could not be together to celebrate, we are honored to be able to recognize the outstanding achievements of some of our most prolific songwriters,” said Sam Kling, SESAC’s svp of creative operations. “So much incredible music has come out of this past year, and we are immensely proud and grateful for our wonderfully talented affiliates.”


Other notable winners include H.E.R’s “Slide,” written by Keenon ‘YG’ Jackson and published by 360 Music and Rap Money; Dua Lipa’s “Break My Heart,” written by Andrew Farriss and published by Universal Music Group; and Joji’s “Slow Dancing in the Dark,” written by Patrick Wimberly and published by One In Song Together, Kobalt Group Publishing, and Patrick Wimberly Publishing.

The full list of winners, along with exclusive video content featuring guest appearances, is available here.