Top L.A. Emerging R&B/Hip-Hop Artists 2021

Presented by Rémy Martin
About this chart

To understand L.A. hip-hop and R&B is to assess the dual nature of the city itself. In this capital of gritty noir and golden sunshine, the unbreakable tradition of classic gangsta rap remains eternally relevant, sustained by South Central, Compton and Long Beach artists like G Perico, 03 Greedo, Jay Worthy, and Drakeo the Ruler. However, the place that invented Hollywood romance also contains multi-faceted artists with pop sensibilities and a sugary gift for melody. Don’t get it twisted, the city’s top hip-hop and R&B hybrids (Blxst, KalanFrFr, and Bino Rideaux) might be at home on Top 40 radio, but they exist in the tradition of Nate Dogg and Ty Dolla Sign: what glitters can also be grimy. As 2021 beckons, a wide variety of styles have made themselves at home in the city of Angels. You can find anything you like, except maybe regular rain.

THE BILLBOARD BIZ
SUBSCRIBER EXPERIENCE

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.


To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.