Expanded 'O Brother, Where Art Thou?' Soundtrack Arriving Aug. 16
Expanded 'O Brother, Where Art Thou?' Soundtrack Arriving Aug. 16

An expanded edition of "O Brother, Where Art Thou?," the biggest-selling soundtrack of the last decade, will be released Aug. 16. A two-CD set from UMe, the deluxe edition includes 13 songs recorded during original sessions for the film that have never been released.

Grammy and Oscar winner T Bone Burnett oversaw the 17-track bonus disc that features artists who appeared on the original album (John Hartford, Norman Blake, the Fairfield Four, the Cox Family and the Peasall Sisters), plus some who did not (Colin Linden, Alan O'Bryant, Ed Lewis and Van Dyke Parks). Of the new tracks, only one, Burnett's "Cow Road," was heard on-screen. Previously released tracks from Duke Ellington, Ed Lewis and the Prisoners and the Kossoy Sisters are included as well.

"O Brother, Where Art Thou?" was released in 2000. Released in January 2001, the film's soundtrack sold 3.46 million copies that year, according to Nielsen Soundscan, on its way to winning the Grammy for album of the year. Shortly after the ceremony, "O Brother" went to No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200, nearly 15 months after its release. Hailed for exposing bluegrass, early country, blues and gospel to audiences, the soundtrack sold 2.73 million copies in 2002, landing it in the year-end top 10 for a second year. To date is has sold 7.6 million copies.

Besides album of the year and compilation soundtrack Grammys, the album won awards for Dan Tyminski, Harley Allen and Pat Enright (country collaboration with vocals) and Dr. Ralph Stanley (country vocal performance, male).

The music from "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" spawned a Nashville concert that lead to a sold-out U.S. tour. The soundtrack for the documentary film of the Nashville show, "Down From the Mountain," won Burnett the Grammy for traditional folk album.

Here is the track listing:

Disc One: The Original O'Brother Where Art Thou
"Po' Lazarus" (James Carter and prisoners)
"Big Rock Candy Mountain" (Harry McClintock)
"You Are My Sunshine" (Norman Blake)
"Down To The River To Pray" (Alison Krauss)
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" (The Soggy Bottom Boys)
"Hard Time Killing Floor Blues" (Chris Thomas King)
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" (Norman Blake)
"Keep On The Sunny Side" (The Whites)
"I'll Fly Away" (Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch)
"Didn't Leave Nobody But The Baby" (Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch)
"In The Highways" - (Sarah, Hannah and Leah Peasall)
"I Am Weary, Let Me Rest" (The Cox Family)
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" (John Hartford)
"O Death" (Ralph Stanley)
"In The Jailhouse Now" (The Soggy Bottom Boys)
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" (The Soggy Bottom Boys)
"Indian War Whoop" (John Hartford)
"Lonesome Valley" (Fairfield Four)
"Angel Band" (The Stanley Brothers)

Disc Two: Bonus Disc
"Hard Time Killing Floor Blues" (Colin Linden)
"You Are My Sunshine" (Alan O'Bryant)
"Tishamingo County Blues" (John Hartford)
"Mood Indigo" (Duke Ellington)
"Cow Road" (T Bone Burnett)
"I'll Fly Away" (The Kossoy Sisters)
"Big Rock Candy Mountain" (Van Dyke Parks)
"Admiration" (Duke Ellington)
"Tom Devil" (Ed Lewis and the Prisoners)
"Keep On The Sunny Side" (The Cox Family)
"Angel Band" (Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall)
"Big Rock Candy Mountain" (Norman Blake)
"Little Sadie" (Norman Blake)
"In The Highways" (The Cox Family)
"That Hog's Foot Further In The Bed" (John Hartford)
"The Lord Will Make A Way" (Fairfield Four)
"In The Jailhouse Now" (Harley Allen)