Angelo Badalamenti, Alf Clausen Honored at ASCAP Film & TV Music Awards
Angelo Badalamenti, Alf Clausen Honored at ASCAP Film & TV Music Awards

Filmmaker David Lynch saluted Angelo Badalamenti and Jay Kogen, the producer at "The Simpsons" who hired Alf Clausen, saluted the animated show's composer Thursday at ASCAP's 26th annual Film & Television Music Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

Badalamenti told stories about pitching songs to Nina Simone and working with Paul McCartney in accepting ASCAP's Henry Mancini Award in recognition of his achievements and contributions to the world of film and television music. Seated at the keyboards, Badalamenti and his 11-piece band of colleagues and music students from the jazz department at California State University Northridge performed a medley of his music heavy on themes he has written for Lynch such as "Twin Peaks."

Clausen, honored with a performance by his 17-piece big band, accepted the ASCAP Golden Note Award with a story about his introduction to session work in Los Angeles and his partnering with Thomas Wolfe, a songwriter he admired as a fan while growing up in North Dakota. A chance meeting at a gig at the Ambassador Hotel in L.A. -- Wolfe on piano, Clausen on bass -- led to the two of them collaborating as composers.

Prior to the awards presentations and performances, awards were handed out to ASCAP composers behind top films, TV shows and video game of 2010.

The winner of the Top Video Game Award was Halo: Reach with music composed by Marty O'Donnell and Michael Salvatori.

Honored in the Top Box Office Films category were Carter Burwell ("True Grit"), John Debney ("Iron Man 2, Valentine's Day, Yogi Bear"), Randy Newman ("Toy Story 3"), James Newton Howard ("The Last Airbender," "Salt," "The Tourist"), Hans Zimmer ("Inception," "Megamind"), Lorne Balfe ("Megamind"), Jon Brion ("The Other Guys"), Michael Brook ("The Fighter"), Ramin Djawadi ("Clash of the Titans"), Rupert Gregson-Williams ("Grown Ups"), James Horner ("The Karate Kid"), Deborah Lurie ("Dear John"), Heitor Pereira and Pharrell Williams ("Despicable Me"), John Powell ("How To Train Your Dragon"), Trevor Rabin ("The Sorcerer's Apprentice"), Trent Reznor ("The Social Network"), Glenn Slater ("Tangled"), Marc Streitenfeld ("Robin Hood") and Steven Trask ("Little Fockers").

ASCAP composers whose combined works earned the highest number of performance credits on network, local and cable television in the category of themes and dramatic underscore for the 2010 survey year were Jack Allocco, Joel Beckerman, Sean Callery, Rob Duncan, Michael Giacchino, David Kurtz, Jeff Lippencott, Walter Murphy, David Vanacore and Mark T. Williams.

The composers who wrote the themes and underscore for the highest rated television series in 2010 were J.J. Abrams and Michael Giacchino ("Lost, Undercovers"), John Adair ("The Suite Life on Deck," "The Wizards of Waverly Place"), Peter Adams, Michael Levine, Franz Vonlichten and Helmut Vonlichten ("Cold Case"), Lee Aronsohn ("Two and a Half Men"), Steven Belfer, Nicolas Carr, Derek Drymon, Mark Harrison, Stephen Hillenburg, Pat Irwin, Stephen Marston, Blaise Smith and Barry Trop ("SpongeBob SquarePants"), Matt Bowen, Tony Morales, Devin Powers and Brad Segal ("The Bachelor," "The Bachelorette"), Sean Callery ("24, Bones"), Jeff Cardoni ("CSI: Miami," "The Defenders," "Undercover Boss"), Gary Chase and Butch Walker ("Hellcats"), Andrea Datzman and Christopher Tilton ("Undercovers"), Catherine Dennis, Julian Gingell and Barry Stone ("American Idol"), John Dickson ("Burn Notice"), Rob Duncan ("Castle"), David Evans and Winnie Holzman ("Huge"), Marc Fantini, Steffan Fantini and Scott Gordon ("Army Wives," "Criminal Minds"), Jay Ferguson ("NCIS: Los Angeles"), Dan Foliart ("Secret Life of the American Teenager"), Jamie Forsyth and Ken Jordan ("Bones"), Grant Geissman ("Mike & Molly," "Two and a Half Men"), Eric Goldman, Zedrick Kelley and Jeannie Lurie ("Shake It Up"), Jared Gudstadt ("Pawn Stars"), Richard Haitz ("1000 Ways To Die"), Matthew Hawkins, Maurice "m.O" Jackson and Neil Martin ("NCIS"), Ron Jones, Seth MacFarlane and Walter Murphy ("Family Guy"), Aaron Kaplan ("Royal Pains"), John Keane ("CSI"), Josh Kelley ("Mike & Molly"), Dave Kushner, Curtis Stigers, Kurt Sutter and Bob Thiele ("Sons of Anarchy"), Russ Landau ("Survivor: Heroes vs. Villains," "Survivor: Nicaragua"), James Levine ("Glee," "Rizzoli & Isles," "Royal Pains"), Jeff Lippencott and Mark T. Williams ("Biggest Loser"), Lucero ("Soy Tu Dueño"), Bear McCreary ("Walking Dead"), Daniel McGrath and Josh Phillips ("Dancing With The Stars"), Mayre Martinez ("Aurora"), Trevor Morris ("The Tudors"), Anton Newcombe ("Boardwalk Empire"), Atli Örvarsson ("Law & Order: LA"), Oscar Owens and Steve Porcaro ("Justified"), Didier Lean Rachou ("Gold Rush: Alaska"), Ed Robertson ("Big Bang Theory"), Elvin Ross and J.Dub ("Meet The Browns"), Morton Stevens ("Hawaii Five-0"), Emerson Swinford ("Hot In Cleveland"), Brandon Thompson ("Ghost Hunters"), David Vanacore ("Ghost Hunters," "Survivor: Heroes vs. Villains," "Survivor: Nicaragua," "Undercover Boss") and Ron Wasserman ("Hot In Cleveland," "SpongeBob SquarePants").