Universal Music Publishing Group has confirmed the re-signing of Johnny Marr to a long-term, global publishing agreement, covering all the songs co-written for the Smiths.

The Smiths' four studio albums, singles and other album-length releases, issued between 1983 and 1987, were co-written by Smiths guitarist Marr and singer Morrissey. The co-writes include songs such as "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now," "William, It Was Really Nothing," "How Soon Is Now?," "Bigmouth Strikes Again," "Panic" and "There Is a Light That Never Goes Out."

"I'm very happy that the Smiths catalog is with Universal Music Publishing," said Marr in a statement. "It's great to be working with people who understand the band's legacy and genuinely appreciate the music."

Paul Connolly, president of Europe and U.K., UMPG, added: "The Smiths are one of my all-time favorite bands and our long-term relationship with Johnny is a joy. We are huge admirers of his legacy with the Smiths and look forward to enjoying many more years of working together."