Rachel Portman will receive BMI's Richard Kirk Award for outstanding career achievement and Terence Blanchard will receive the Classic Contribution Award at the performing right organization's annual Film & Television Awards on May 19.

Portman, the first female composer to win an Academy Award when she won for "Emma" in 1997, also is Oscar-nominated for her scores for 2000's "The Cider House Rules" and 2001's "Chocolat." She recently completed the score for the upcoming adaptation of Kazuo Ishiguro's novel "Never Let Me Go."

Previous winners of the Kirk Award include Lalo Schifrin, Mike Post and John Williams.

Blanchard will receive the Classic Contribution Award in recognition of his charity work in his hometown of New Orleans and with the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz, which named him artistic director in 2000.

The BMI Film & Television Awards will be held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel and hosted by BMI president & CEO Del Bryant and BMI VP, film/TV relations Doreen Ringer Ross.