Dr. Luke, Jason Mraz and Patti Smith were among those honored at the ASCAP Pop Music Awards show Wednesday night.

Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald, who was named songwriter of the year, while Jason Mraz's "I'm Yours" was named song of the year and EMI Music Publishing picked up top honors in the publisher of the year category. Also acknowledged: Patti Smith was honored with the ASCAP Founders Award and The Killers received ASCAP's Vanguard Award.

The event took place at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles and was attended by 700 songwriters, artists and music industry leaders.

Gottwald received his award after penning five of the most-performed songs of the past year: Britney Spears' "Circus," Katy Perry's "Hot N Cold," Kelly Clarkson's "My Life Would Suck Without You," Miley Cyrus' "Party In the USA," and Flo Rida's "Right Round."

EMI, which collected awards for 15 songs during the evening, kept alive its streak as the ASCAP publisher of the year for the eighth consecutive year. It total, EMI has scored that honor 16 times in the 27 year history of the awards.

Other honorees during the evening included C. "Tricky" Stewart who collected three awards for "Blame It," "Obsessed" and "Single Ladies;" Katy Perry who picked up two awards for "Hot N Cold" and "Waking Up In Vegas;" and Marcella Araica who received two awards for "Knock You Down" and "Sober."

The complete list of winners is available at www.ascap.com.

The ASCAP Pop Music Awards kicks off the 5th annual "I Create Music" Expo, a three-day conference beginning April 22. This year's Expo features Quincy Jones being interviewed by Ludacris, a conversation between Justin Timberlake and Bill Withers, an interview with John Mayer, and numerous panels, workshops and more. For more details, visit www.ascap.com/expo.