Rachel Portman was honored with the Richard Kirk Award and Terence Blanchard received the Classic Contribution Award at BMI's annual Film/TV Music Awards at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel on May 19.

The Richard Kirk Award is given to composers who have made significant contributions to the realm of film and television music. Portman's work includes the scores to the Oscar-winning "Emma" and Oscar-nominated "Cider House Rules" and "Chocolat." Previous winners of the Kirk Award include Lalo Schifrin, Mike Post and Danny Elfman.

Blanchard received the Classic Contribution Award as a result of his charity work in his hometown of New Orleans and his involvement with the Theonious Monk Institute of Jazz.

Also honored during the night were the composers of music featured in the past year's top-grossing films, top-rated primetime network TV series and highest-ranking cable network programs. Pete Townshend received three awards on the night for his contributions to the theme songs of "CSI," "CSI: Miami" and "CSI: NY."

The black-tie event was hosted by BMI president and CEO Del Bryant and Film/TV Relations VP Doreen Ringer Ross.