-- The Songwriters Hall of Fame has added music publishing executive Keith Mardak to those who will be honored at its induction ceremony on June 17 at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel. Mardak, who is chairman/CEO for the Hal Leonard Corp., will receive the Abe Olman Publisher Award.

In other SHOF gala news, Billy Joel and Diana Krall are among the other well known songwriters, artists and musicians who will either perform or present awards. Also, Kim Carnes, Judy Collins, Bruce Hornsby, kd Lang, John Mayer, Brian Stokes Mitchell, LA Reid, Raphael Saadiq, Paul Shaffer, Dionne Warwick, Elizabeth Withers and Nikki Yanofsky have signed on to be either a presenter and/or performer at the gala event.

This year's SHOF inductees include Leonard Cohen, Jackie DeShannon, David Foster, Johnny Mandel and Earth, Wind & Fire's Maurice White, Philip Bailey, Verdine White, Larry Dunn and Al McKay. Posthumous inductees are Tom Adair and Matt Dennis, Bob Marley, Laura Nyro, Sunny Skylar and Jesse Stone. The Johnny Mercer Award will be presented to Phil Collins. The Towering Song this year is "Bridge Over Troubled Water," to be accepted by Paul Simon. The Hal David Starlight Award will be presented to Taylor Swift. The Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award will be presented to Phil Ramone.

On the latest honoree announcement, SHOF chairman Hal David, said in a statement, "Keith Mardak has long been immensely respected as an innovative publisher, keeping the important tradition and art of printed music alive, while making it sustainable and viable with today's new technologies."

Mardak, who began his career at Hal Leonard Corporation in 1970, leads the company which is considered the world's largest music print publisher with a catalog consisting of over 200,000 publications, covering a broad spectrum of printed music.

-- Five promising young songwriters were given the Abe Olman Scholarship for Excellence in Songwriting at the Bitter End in New York City on June 8. The Abe Olman Award and Scholarship is named after the songwriter, who was also a major figure in the music publishing community and one of the founders of the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

These scholarship recipients and the music organization that chose each winner, respectively are: Gabriella Caspi (SHOF); Comic Book Heroes (SESAC); Rebecca Jordan (ASCAP); Keli Price (BMI); Chris Tedesco (SGA).

In yet another award, this one named after Buddy Holly, Laura Warshauer was given the Holly Prize, a new award made possible by Songmasters and administered and juried by the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

-- The annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Silent Auction will go live June 9th - June 30th on charitybuzz.com. Some items available for bidding on the site include a black Yamaha "G2" piano signed by Carole Bayer Sager, a piano bench signed by Burt Bacharach, and Kings of Leon live in Concert.

-- ASCAP is calling for submissions for its 42nd annual Deems Taylor Awards competition for books, articles and liner notes on music. The awards were established to honor Taylor, a composer, critic and commentator, who died in 1966 after a career that included six years as president of ASCAP. The awards are made possible through the support of the Music Publishers Assn., which was founded in 1895. The competition will accept submissions from June 15-July 31, addressed to ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards; American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers; One Lincoln Plaza; New York, NY 10023. For more information visit ascap.com.