The chart-topping single "Young Blood" from the Naked and Famous has won the top prize at the New Zealand Silver Scroll Awards.

Alisa Xayalith, Thom Powers and Aaron Short from the electronic/alt-rock act won the Silver Scroll, the main songwriting prize at the Australasian Performing Right Association's awards. It was voted on by APRA members.

The awards ceremony honors achievement in New Zealand songwriting. The event was held Sept. 8 in Auckland.

Released on Somewhat Damaged/Universal, the song debuted at No. 1 earlier this year and also features on the Naked and Famous' debut album, "Passive Me, Aggressive You," which was released this week.

APRA NZ director Anthony Healey described "Young Blood" as "stroppy, youthful and energetic... it should take the world by storm."

In other awards, Dane Rumble (Rumble Music/Warner) - together with Te Awanui Reeder and Samuel King - picked up the award for most performed work on radio and television for "Cruel," while Neil Finn's Crowded House classic "Don't Dream It's Over" was once again the most performed work overseas.

APRA Maioha Award, which celebrates contemporary Maori music went to Jamie Greenslade - AKA Maitreya - for his song "Sin City," while Chris Cree Brown won classical music's SOUNZ Contemporary Award for "Inner Bellow."

In addition, New Zealand '60s band the Fourmyula - who include the founder of U.K. label Fiction Records Chris Parry - was inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame at the ceremony.