Angelo Badalamenti, Alf Clausen To Be Honored at ASCAP Film and TV Music Awards
Angelo Badalamenti, Alf Clausen To Be Honored at ASCAP Film and TV Music Awards

Composers Angelo Badalamenti and Alf Clausen will be honored at the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers' 26th annual Film and Television Music Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles June 23.

In a statement ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams commented "We're very proud to celebrate the achievements of Angelo and Alf at our event this year."

Angelo Badalamenti is a renowned film and television composer whose work includes the soundtracks to David Lynch's films "Blue Velvet" and "Mulholland Drive." He has also collaborated with David Bowie, Paul McCartney, Michael Jackson, Nina Simone and Mel and Pam Tillis.

Badalamenti will be presented with the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award, which is awarded to composers in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to the world of film and television. Past recipients of this award include, Randy Newman, Quincy Jones, Hans Zimmer and Mark Isham.

"Angelo's musical contributions to film and television are of the highest artistic order - unique, memorable and totally in sync with the vision of the great directors he has worked with," observed Chairman Paul Williams.

Alf Clausen is a film and television composer, songwriter and producer. He is perhaps best known for his scoring and songwriting for the television series "The Simpsons." He's also composed music for numerous television variety shows such as "The Donny & Marie Show."

"Alf Clausen's decades of scores for 'The Simpsons and other TV programs and films are as endlessly inventive as the imaginations of the shows' writers and animators," Williams said.

Clausen will receive the ASCAP Golden Note Award, which is presented to songwriters, composers who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. Previous recipients include Stevie Wonder, Jay Z, Tom Petty and Garth Brooks.

Composers of the most performed film and television music of 2010 will also be honored at the event. Among those receiving awards in the Top Box Office Films category are John Debney for "Iron Man 2," "Valentine's Day" and "Yogi Bear," James Newton Howard for "The Last Airbender," "Salt and The Tourist," Randy Newman for "Toy Story 3," Trent Reznor for "The Social Network," Trevor Rabin for "The Sorcerer's Apprentice," Pharrell Williams for "Despicable Me" and Hans Zimmer for "Inception" and "Megamind."