Snow Patrol scooped four awards at the Meteor Ireland Music Awards 2007, held last night (Feb. 1) in Dublin.

The Scottish/Irish alternative rock group won for best Irish band, best Irish album for "Eyes Open," (Fiction), best live performance (voted for by the public) and most downloaded song for "Chasing Cars".

Dublin's Damien Dempsey won best Irish male, beating out the likes of Van Morrison and Fionn Regan, while Wicklow's Luan Parle took home the gong for best Irish female.

Westlife were named best Irish pop act, while Dublin guitar band Director walked away with the award for best new Irish act.

Also on the night, Scissor Sisters won best international band and Arctic Monkeys claimed the best international album category for their debut set "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not" (Domino).

The ceremony, which was held in Dublin's Point Depot and compered by comedienne Deirdre O'Kane and Irish TV puppets Podge and Rodge, featured live performances by Pussycat Dolls, Amy Winehouse, Kaiser Chiefs and the Feeling.

Local acts Director, the Blizzards and Westlife also took to the stage, the latter singing a version of Garth Brooks' "Shall We Dance?" with former Boyzone singer Ronan Keating.

Donegal roots act Clannad, led by singer Moya Brennan, was presented with a lifetime achievement award, while RTE DJ Larry Gogan was honored for his services to music.

Six of the categories were voted on by the public, while 11 awards were decided by an industry panel.