Bob Geldof, U2 frontman Bono and German rock singer Herbert Groenemeyer fronted a rock concert in Rostock, North Germany yesterday as part of an appeal for world leaders to ramp-up support for the people of Africa.

More than 70,000 people attended the concert under the motto "Deine Stimme gegen Armut - Your voice against poverty," which was held just 15 kilometers from the G8 summit at the seaside town of Heiligendamm.

Fifteen acts performed, including German groups Die Fantastischen Vier, Die Toten Hosen, Seeed, Silbermond and international groups Mo'Some Big Noise (Mozambique), Peter Miles (Uganda), Leo Muntu (Zambia), Bassekou Kouyate (Mali), Bangla (Bangladesh) and Perrrozompopo (Nicaragua).

Geldof and Bono have been tireless campaigners for aid to Africa. Geldof, the former frontman of Irish punk-era band Boomtown Rats, created the Live 8 concerts in the summer of 2005 as a means to bring the plight of Africa into focus ahead of a GM summit, which was held soon after at Gleneagles in Scotland.

Geldof and Bono met with German chancellor Angela Merkel on Wednesday, the opening day of the summit. Merkel, who is also the current EU president, is understood to have informed both of them about the EU plans for Africa.

As the summit draws to a close, however, Bono today slammed world leaders for producing a "deliberately misleading" pledge to fight AIDS and other deadly diseases, according to Reuters.

"I am exasperated," Bono told Reuters. "I think it is deliberately the language of obfuscation. It is deliberately misleading," he added.

The Thursday concert was organized by Groenemeyer and Venro, the umbrella organization of the German NGO (World Economy, Ecology and Development). AOL streamed the entire concert free.

According to reports coming from the summit, the industrialized nations are calling for better protection of intellectual property.

The G8 convenes each year to discuss the major economic and political issues facing the international community. The most recent meeting was July 15-17 in St. Petersburg, Russia. Its members are Russia, France, the United States, Great Britain, Japan, Germany, Canada and Italy.