Klaxons' Mercury Music Prize-winning debut album "Myths Of The Near Future" (Rinse/Polydor) makes the shortlist for the inaugural Xfm New Music Award 2007, to be held Jan. 16, 2008 at the Koko venue in London.

"Myths" is one of ten albums in the running for the new award, which is voted on by listeners of the British modern rock radio station.

The other shortlisted albums are Air Traffic's "Fractured Life" (EMI), the Enemy's "We'll Live and Die In These Towns" (Warner), Frank Turner's "Sleep Is For The Week" (Xtra Mile Recordings), Kate Nash's "Made Of Bricks" (Fiction), the Maccabees' "Colour It In" (Fiction), the Pigeon Detectives' "Wait For Me" (Dance To The Radio), the Twang's "Love It When I Feel Like This" (B-Unique), the View's "Hats Off To The Buskers" (1965 Records) and the Wombats' "Proudly Present.. A Guide To Love, Loss and Desperation" (14th Floor).

In a statement issued today, Xfm's head of music Mike Walsh commented, "We've always known that Xfm listeners have excellent taste and here is more proof. This is a very strong list of 10 great British debut albums and Xfm is proud to have been associated with all of them."

A music industry panel will decide the winner at the gala, where a number of the nominees are expected to perform. Xfm's programming director Ande Macpherson will chair the event.