Teen pop music continues to rule the roost in South Korea, as shown in the ninth annual M-Net KM Music Festival awards Saturday night.

The artist of the year award went to SM Entertainment's Super Junior, who also picked up the Netizen Award for their online popularity, and popular mobile Son award for "Don't Don."

Song of the year was "Lie," performed by YG Entertainment's Big Bang, who also won best male group of the year.

Album of the year was one of the few awards not to go to a pop act, with hip hop group Epik High taking out the category. Epik High also won the best hip hop group award.

The lounge techno act Classiquai won both best house and electronic group and best mixed group. Best rock music went to Cherry Filter.

Another major winner was new band FT Island, which picked up best new boy band and the M-Net popular artist awards.

A major highlight of this year's show was a performance kicking off Park Jin-young's comeback album, his first in six years. Park, the 35-year-old CEO and founder of JYP Entertainment, is the producer of Wonder Girls, who won the best new girl group award.

The Japanese artist Gackt also sang at the show, after declining his Asia pop artist award, saying that he just wanted to perform for local fans.

Sponsored by Korea's top music video channel M-Net, the gala signals the start of the year-end award season, and is generally considered one of the more prestigious.

Winners were determined by a combination of Internet voting, viewer polling, CD, online and mobile phone sales, and a channel awards committee.

The Music Festival scored a 2.8 rating, the second highest of all of Korea's cable channels on Saturday.