Male R&B vocal group Exile were the big winners at this year's edition of the MTV Video Music Awards Japan, which were presented May 31 at the Saitama Super Arena north of Tokyo.

The group, which is signed to Tokyo-based label Avex, bagged awards for best video of the year ("I Believe"), best album of the year ("Exile Love") and best karaoke song ("Tokinokakera").

The best male video award went to Ne-Yo for "Because of You" (Universal Music Japan), while Fergie won the best female video award for "Big Girls Don't Cry" (Universal Music Japan).

BMG Japan-signed male vocalist Motohiro Hata won in the best new artist category, while the best rock and pop video awards went to Radwimps (EMI Music Japan) and Avril Lavigne (BMG Japan), respectively.

The show featured live performances by Mariah Carey (who was presented with a special "video vanguard" award), Exile, Fergie, Nelly, Orange Range and Simple Plan. Award presenters included Bono, Flo Rida, Namie Amuro and Paris Hilton.

Winners were chosen by MTV viewers between January and May 2008. Any Japanese or international artist who released a CD in Japan between March 1, 2007, and Feb. 28, 2008, and also produced a music video, was eligible to be nominated.

The show was broadcast live and will also be re-broadcast at various times over the next couple of weeks, while portions of the show will be available to MTV channels around the world.