Tinariwen, a group of musicians from the Sahara Desert region of northern Mali, has won the 2009 Uncut Music Award for its fourth album "Imidiwan: Companions" (Independiente).

The album beat records on the shortlist by Kings of Leon, Bob Dylan, Wilco, Animal Collective, Dirty Projectors, Grizzly Bear and the Low Anthem to be crowned the "most inspirational and rewarding album of 2009." The award from the U.K. monthly music magazine launched last year, when it was won by Fleet Foxes.

Tinariwen was unanimously chosen by a judging panel of 11 industry figures, broadcasters and musicians including Billy Bragg and Robin Pecknold of Fleet Foxes.