Canada's SOCAN To Appear Before High Court On Digital Licensing Ruling
Canada's SOCAN To Appear Before High Court On Digital Licensing Ruling

Hip hop artist K'Naan, legendary country-rockers The Stampeders, Pink Floyd/Alice Cooper producer Bob Ezrin and country band Prairie Oyster all received achievement awards of varying kinds at last night's private SOCAN Awards at Toronto's Roy Thomson Hall.

The Canadian performing rights organization also honoured the artists and/or songwriters behind 2010 radio and sales hits by Michael Buble, Hedley, Kardinal Offishall, and more.

Songs from television, film and children's music were also recognized during the gala presentation that was co-hosted separately, in three seamless sections, by country singer Michelle Wright, former Barenaked Ladies' Steven Page and rapper Abdominal.

SOCAN Members to Receive Highest Ever Royalties This Month

David Bendeth, Dave Genn and Hedley frontman Jacob Hoggard were all on-hand to receive Pop/Rock Music Award for Hedley's "Perfect," the song that achieved the greatest number of performances on domestic radio in 2010. Notching the same achievement in a different genre, Kardinal Offishall accepted the Urban Music Award for "Body Bounce," co-written with Tim Hazell, and featuring Akon; and the Country Music Award went to "Up All Night" by Deric Ruttan and co-writer Jimmy Rankin.

2011 SOCAN Classic Award winners, given to Canadian songs that have achieved the 100,000 airplay mark on domestic radio, went to Lighthouse's "Sunny Days" and "Pretty Lady;" Beau Marks' "Clap Your Hands;" and Crowbar's "Oh What A Feeling."

The National Achievement Award was given to Prairie Oyster, a band whose career spans more than 30 years.

Bob Ezrin, whose resume includes Pink Floyd's "The Wall;" Alice Cooper's "School's Out," "Billion Dollar Babies," and "Welcome To My Nightmare;" and KISS' "Destroyer," received the Special Achievement Award for "people who have greatly contributed to Canada's music industry and/or musical heritage over the course of their career."

The Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed on The Stampeders, whose "Sweet City Woman" alone reached No. 1 in Canada and No. 8 on the U.S. Billboard chart , selling one million copies in 1971 and eventual sales of 3 million worldwide.

Canada's SOCAN Files For Webcasting Tariff

The International Achievement Award (not presented during the show) went to K'Naan for all he accomplished worldwide in 2010, including FIFA World Cup of Soccer selecting "Wavin' Flag" as its anthem, traveling to 86 countries to sing it, and the new charity version, produced by Ezrin, with a huge cast of artists such as Drake, Nelly Furtado and Justin Bieber, that benefitted the victims of the earthquake in Haiti.

Other awards that were acknowledged in the program but not onstage included those to Sarah Harmer, Buble, Dragonette, Bruce Cockburn and Blue Rodeo.

For a complete list of award-winners, visit SOCAN's website.