Casper, Tim Bendzko, Gotye: Germany's Echo Awards Dominated by Newcomers
Casper, Tim Bendzko, Gotye: Germany's Echo Awards Dominated by Newcomers

BERLIN - The final list of nominees for Germany's 2012 ECHO music award were announced earlier this week in Berlin. This year's slate is dominated by newcomers: German rapper Casper was nominated in four categories, while rising star Tim Bendzko, the band Frida Gold and the Belgian-Australian singer/songwriter Gotye each received three nominations.. German rock-veteran Herbert Grönemeyer was nominated in three categories.

Adele, Lady Gaga Nominated For Germany's ECHO Awards: Lana Del Rey, Gotye To Perform

The 21st annual awards show will be held on March 22 at the Berlin fair ground with German TV channel ARD broadcasting the event live. The show is organized by the German Phonoakademie, the cultural institute of the German music industry Association (BVMI) in Berlin.

Among the acts slated to perform live is U.S. singer/songwriter Christina Perri with her song her song "Distance" together with Jason Mraz, Lana Del Rey, Gotye and the New Zealand singer Kimbra.

Nominated in two categories are: Grammy winner Adele, German rock-legend Udo Lindenberg, German duo Rosenstolz (winner of the 2011 European song contest), Lena, German singer Helene Fischer, The Dutch singer Caro Emerald, the US dance pop group LMFAO, singer Pietro Lombardi and the Duo 23, a collaboration between German rappers Sido and Bushido.

International acts with one nomination include, Lana Del Rey, Lady Gaga, Bruno Mars and James Morrison as well as the bands Coldplay, Snow Patrol, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Foo Fighters.

This year a new category "Club/Dance" has been added in order to honor the growing interest in EDM. Among the nominees are the Swiss DJ Antoine, French David Guetta and the US-duo LMFAO.

BVMI's managing director Dr. Florian Drücke in a statement: "The nominees for the ECHO 2012 represent a year of music with an amazing variety and many new discoveries. The fact that so many newcomers are nominated in various categories shows with how much force for innovation and creativity the international but of course also the German music industry is engaged in building up new artists."

The winners in the categories National Act Abroad, Music DVD Production National, Live Act National, Media Partner of the year, Retailer of the Year and Life Time Achievement Award have no nominations and will be presented on March 22.

Echo Award Nominees:

Album of the year
Adele - "21" (XL/Beggars/Indigo)
Helene Fischer - "Für einen Tag" (Electrola/EMI)
Herbert Grönemeyer - "Schiffsverkehr" (Grönland/EMI)
Udo Lindenberg - "MTV Unplugged - Live aus dem Hotel Atlantic" (Starwatch/Warner)
Rosenstolz - "Wir sind am Leben" (Island/Universal)

Artist National Rock/Pop
Tim Bendzko (Columbia/Sony)
Herbert Grönemeyer (Grönland/EMI)
Udo Lindenberg (Starwatch/Warner)
Pietro Lombardi (Polydor/Universal)
Peter Maffay (Ariola/Sony)

Artist International Rock/Pop
Chris de Burgh (Edel)
Gotye (Vertigo/Universal)
Bruno Mars (Elektra/Warner)
Milow (B1 Recordings/Universal)
James Morrison (Universal)

Female Artist National Rock/Pop
Sarah Engels (Polydor/Universal)
Lena (USFO/Universal)
Annett Louisan (SMD 105 Music/Sony)
Ina Müller (SMD 105 Music/Sony)
Cassandra Stehen (Urban/Universal)

Female Artist Rock/Pop
Adele (XL/Beggars/Indigo)
Caro Emerald (Polydor/Universal)
Lady Gaga (Interscope/Universal)
Amy Winehouse (Island/Universal)
Zaz (Coumbia/Sony)

Band National Rock/Pop
The BossHoss (Island/Universal)
Dick Brave & The Backbeats (RCA/Sony)
Frida Gold (Warner)
Rosenstolz (Island/Universal)
Söhne Mannheims (Söhne Mannheims/Toonpool Medien)

Band International Rock/Pop
Coldplay (Parlophone/EMI)
Katzenjammer (Vertigo/Universal)
Roxette (Roxette/EMI)
Snow Patrol (Polydor/Universal)
Sunrise Avenue (Capitol/EMI)

German Language Artist/Female Artist/Band
Andrea Berg (Ariola/Sony)
Helene Fischer (Electrola/EMI)
Ute Freudenberg & Chris Lais (Koch/Universal)
Udo Jürgens (Ariola/Sony)
Semino Rossi (Koch/Universal)

Artist/Female Artist/Band MOR
Amigos (MCP)
Andreas Gabalier (Koch/Universal)
Hansi Hinterseer (Seven Days/Sony)
Kastelruther Spatzen (Koch/Universal)
Nockalm Quintett (Koch/Universal)

Artist/ Female Artist/ Band/
Collaboration Hip-Hop/Urban National/International
23 (Columbia/Sony)
Bushido (Bushido/Sony)
Casper (Four Music/Sony)
Kool Savas (Essah Entertainment/Groove Attack)
Pitbull (Pacewell Entertainment/Intergroove)

Artist/Female Artist/Band/
Collaboration Club/Dance National/International
Deichkind (Vertigo/Universal)
DJ Antoine (Kontor/Edel)
David Guetta (Copy Cat/Groove Attack)
Paul Kalkbrenner (Bpitch Control/Rough Trade)
LMFAO (Interscope/Universal)

Artist/Female Artist/Band
Collaboration Rock/Alternative National
Guano Apes (Columbia/Sony)
In Extremo (Vertigo/Universal)
Jupiter Jones (Columbia/Sony)
Kraftklub (Vertigo/Universal)
Rammstein (Vertigo/Universal)

Artist/Female Artist/Band/
Collaboration Rock/Alternative International
Evanescence (Wind Up/EMI)
Foo Fighters (RCA/Sony)
Nightwish (Nuclear Blast/Warner)
Nickelback (Roadrunner/Warner)
Red Hot Chili Peppers (RGS/NMD)

Artist/Female Artist/
Collaboration Crossover National/International
Adoro (We Love Music/Universal)
Adya (H'art Musik)
Michael Bublé (Union Square Music/Soulfood Music)
Die Priester (Koch/Universal)
Gregorian (Edel)

Newcomer National
Tim Bendzko (Columbia/Sony)
Casper (Four Music/Sony)
Die Priester (Koch/Universal)
Frida Gold (Warner)
Pietro Lombardi (Polydor/Universal)

Newcomer International
Adya (H'art Musik)
Caro Emerald (Polydor/Universal)
Gotye (Vertigo/Universal)
Lana Del Rey (Vertigo/Universal)
LMFAO (Interscope/Universal)

Hit of the year National/International
Lana Del Rey - "Video Games" (Vertigo/Universal)
Gotye feat. Kimbra - "Somebody That I Used to Know" (Vertigo/Universal)
Jennifer Lopez feat. Pitbull - "On the Floor" (Island/Universal)
Alexandra Stan - "Mr. Saxobeat" (Columbia/Sony)
Michel Teló - "Ai se eu te pego" (B1 Recordings/Universal)

Producer /producer-team National
Alex Silva, Herbert Grönemeyer for Herbert Grönemeyer
Andreas Herbig, Henrik Menzel, Peter "Jem" Seifert for Udo Lindenberg and Andreas Bourani
Daniel Faust , Ulf Sommer, Peter Plate for Rosenstolz
Jean Frankfurter for Helene Fischer

Best Video National
23 - "So mache ich es" (Columbia/Sony)
Casper - "Auf und davon" (Four Music/Sony)
Haudegen - "Ein Mann ein Wort" (Warner)
Frida Gold - "Wovon sollen wir träumen" (Warner)
Lena - "Taken by a Stranger" (USFO/Universal)
Rammstein - "Mein Land" (Vertigo/Universal)

Tim Bendzko - "Nur noch kurz die Welt retten" (Columbia/Sony)
Andreas Bourani - "Nur in meinem Kopf" (Vertigo/Universal)
Jupiter Jones - "Still" (Columbia/Sony)
Revolverheld feat. Marta Jandová - "Halt dich an mir fest" (Columbia/Sony)

Critic Award National
Boy - "Mutual Friends" (Grönland/Rough Trade)
Casper - "XOXO" (Four Music/Sony)
Dillon - "Silence Kills" (Bpitch Control/Rough Trade)
Modeselector - "Monkeytown" (Monkeytown/Rough Trade)
Robag Wruhme - "Thora Vukk" Pampa Records/Rough Trade)