It's a race for No. 1 on the Billboard 200 albums chart next week.

As reported on Wednesday, new albums from rock band Fall Out Boy and rapper Kid Cudi are locked in a battle for No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart next week. Friday, little had changed, as both albums are still in a dead heat.

Industry sources say that Fall Out Boy's latest release, "Save Rock and Roll," is on course to sell around 150,000, while Kid Cudi's new "Indicud" should sell about the same.

The new Billboard 200 chart's top 10 will be revealed on the morning of April 24.

Those in the know are giving a slight edge to Fall Out Boy, but anything is possible over the weekend.

"Save Rock and Roll" would mark Fall Out Boy's second chart-topper, following 2007's "Infinity On High." The band’s last studio effort, 2008's "Folie a Deux," debuted and peaked at No. 8 with 150,000 sold in its first week, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

An early leak of Kid Cudi's album pushed its release up to April 16, instead of its original release date of April 23. His last album, "Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager" debuted and peaked at No. 3 in 2010 off a 169,000 start.

Two more albums are on course for a top 10 start next week: Christian rap artist Andy Mineo and rock band Yeah Yeah Yeahs. The former's debut studio album, "Heroes for Sale," may shift around 30,000, while Yeah Yeah Yeahs' "Mosquito" could buzz in with perhaps 30,000 as well.

Mineo has charted 12 entries on the Gospel Digital Songs chart, including the No. 1s "Ayo!" and "One Sixteen" (Trip Lee featuring KB and Mineo). Mineo is labelmates with fellow Christian rapper Lecrae, who debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard 200 last September with "Gravity" (72,000 in its first week).

On SoundScan's Building chart (below), Fall Out Boy is No. 1 while Kid Cudi is No. 2. The Building tally is a precursor to the final Billboard 200 ranking, reflecting the first four days (Monday through Thursday) of SoundScan's tracking week as reported by six major merchants.

As for the rest of the Building chart's top 10: Justin Timberlake's "The 20/20 Experience" is at No. 3, followed by Blake Shelton's "Based on a True Story," the Band Perry's "Pioneer" and Yeah Yeah Yeahs at Nos. 4-6, respectively. Mineo is found at No. 7, while Macklemore & Ryan Lewis' "The Heist" sits at No. 8. Rounding out the top 10 is Olly Murs' "Right Place Right Time" and Lil Wayne's "I Am Not a Human Being II."


Nielsen SoundScan Building Chart
Rank LW
BB 200
Artist Title
1 NEW Fall Out Boy "Save Rock and Roll"
2 NEW Kid Cudi "Indicud"
3 3 Justin Timberlake "The 20/20 Experience"
4 4 Blake Shelton "Based on a True Story"
5 6 The Band Perry "Pioneer"
6 NEW Yeah Yeah Yeahs "Mosquito"
7 NEW Andy Mineo "Heroes For Sale"
8 16 Macklemore & Ryan Lewis "The Heist"
9 NEW Olly Murs "Right Place Right Time"
10 8 Lil Wayne "I Am Not a Human Being II"
The Building Chart reflects the first four days (Monday through Thursday) of SoundScan's tracking week (which ends Sunday) as reported by six major merchants: iTunes, Trans World Entertainment, Best Buy, Starbucks, Target and Anderson Merchandisers. Billboard estimates that they make up about 85% of all U.S. album sales.