Johnny Mercer Award to be presented at June event.

Stevie Wonder will be presented with the Johnny Mercer Award as part of the 2004 gala for the National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame. The event is set for June 10 at the Mariott Marquis Hotel in New York.

The special award goes to a Hall of Fame member whose body of work is "of such high quality and impact that it upholds the gold standard set by the legendary Johnny Mercer." Past recipients of the Mercer Award include Carole King, Billy Joel, Jimmy Webb, Hal David, Burt Bacharach, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller, Paul Simon, Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Stephen Sondheim, Cy Coleman, Sammy Cahn and Jule Styne.

As previously reported, this year's Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees will be Charles Fox, Al Green, Daryl Hall & John Oates, Don McLean and Barrett Strong & Norman Whitfield.