Agreement covers 200 works.

EMI Music Publishing has licensed the entire catalog of songs written by Yusuf Islam, formerly known as Cat Stevens. Financial terms of the pact were not disclosed.

Through the long-term global deal, EMI will administer approximately 200 songs, including such classics as "Morning Has Broken," "Lady D'Arbanville," "Wild World," "The First Cut Is The Deepest" and "Moon Shadow." The catalog was previously administered by Sony/ATV Music.

"Yusuf's songs are completely timeless, and as publishers, we are now in a position to bring his music to a new generation through media and platforms where, particularly, young consumers now look to find what is, for them, 'new' music," comments Peter Reichardt, chairman/CEO of EMI Music Publishing U.K.

The artist has sold more than 50 million albums. He retired in 1978 after becoming a Muslim.

Earlier this year, Islam returned to the studio to record a new song, "Indian Ocean." Proceeds from the download-only track are being donated to tsunami victims.