Outkast's 'Hey Ya' grabs top song honors.

EMI Music Publishing took home the coveted publisher of the year title at the 22nd annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards, held May 16 at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif. It marked the 11th time that EMI, which had 17 of the award-winning songs, has snared the honor.

"Hey Ya," written by Andre 3000 Benjamin and performed by Outkast, was named song of the year, with Outkast's Big Boi on hand to accept.

Songwriter of the year went to Scott Storch, who wrote five songs on the list of top songs in 2004.

Top honors also went to Neil Young, who was the recipient of the ASCAP Founders Award, which honors a songwriter for his enduring musical legacy. Young, who was recently hospitalized for a brain aneurysm but seemed in fine shape last night, was celebrated by the Indigo Girls, who performed his "Down by the River."

Artist and Virgin Urban president Jermaine Dupri received the ASCAP Golden Note Award in recognition of his groundbreaking work. Dupri was feted by Usher, himself a winner last night, and Mariah Carey.

The ASCAP College Vanguard award went to the Arcade Fire.

For a complete list of winners, go to www.ascap.com.