Canadian awards held in Toronto.

Canadian songwriters, composers, lyricists and publishers were feted at the 16th annual SOCAN Awards in Toronto last night (Nov. 22). The event was hosted by R&B diva Jully Black.

Among those songwriters honored by the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada were Nelly Furtado, Sarah McLachlan, Sarah Harmer, James Black, Scott Anderson, Jason McCoy, Aaron Lines and Emerson Drive's Brad Mates.

Canadian songs receiving SOCAN Classic Awards for reaching the 100,000-airplay mark on domestic radio included "Insensitive" (written by Anne Loree and performed by Jann Arden); "Don't Shed A Tear" (written by Eddie Schwartz and performed by Paul Carrack); "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" (written by Eddie Schwartz and performed by Pat Benatar); and "Pretty Lady" (written by Ra McGuire and performed by Trooper).

SOCAN annually presents Canadian music industry pioneers with major achievement awards. Recipients this year included Nickelback, Phil Nimmons, Valdy and Vancouver-based managers Bruce Allen and Sam Feldman.

John Hutchinson, former CEO of the MCPS-PRS Alliance, was also presented with a Special Achievement Award.

For a full list of SOCAN winners, visit