Albertan rockers Nickelback dominate nods.

With six nominations Albertan rockers Nickelback dominated the nomination list for the 2006 Juno Awards announced today (Feb. 15) in Toronto.

Nickelback (EMI Canada) garnered nominations for top group, fan's choice award and the single award for "Photograph." The band's album "All The Right Reasons" was nominated in album and rock categories as well. The Candian rock outift, with long-time co-producer Joey Moi, also received a production nomination.

This year's Juno event will be celebrated over three days in Halifax, Nova Scotia beginning March 31 culminating in a two-hour televised show on the CTV
network on April 2. Nickelback, Michael Bublé, Bedouin Soundclash, Broken Social Scene and Colplay are scheduled to perform.

"Today’s announcement reflects Canada’s abundant creative spirit strength and diversity in producing some of the world’s best musical artists," says Melanie Berry, president of the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). "Across the 39 categories, we have an excellent representation of artists from first-time nominees to musical legends – all reflecting the amazing talent this country has to offer."

Jazz diva Diana Krall and crooner Michael Bublé each received five nominations. Verve's Krall is nominated for top artist and the fan's choice award. Her season CD "Christmas Songs" earned album and vocal jazz album nominations. Krall's "Live at the Montreal Jazz Festival" is nominated for top music DVD.

Bublé is also nominated for top artist and the fan's choice honors. His 143/Reprise album "It’s Time" is nominated in pop album and top album categories. As well, he received a nod for single for his hit "Home."

This year’s Juno Awards once again show Canada’s deep-grained conservatism with the top group category being dominated by veterans such as Barenaked Ladies, Blue Rodeo, Nickelback, Our Lady Peace, Columbia and Theory Of A Deadman.

Several critically-acclaimed alternative bands, including New Pornographers, Broken Social Scene, Hot Hot Heat and Metric were shut out of mainstream categories. They received nominations in the alternative album category, along with non-alternative folkie duo Tegan & Sara. Additionally, Montreal's Arcade Fire, a band widely acclaimed over the past two years, received just three lesser nominations, two video nods for "Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)" and for "Rebellion (Lies)" and one for songwriting.

This year's nods offer a host of first time nominees from mixed genres receiving double nominations. They include alternative-based Bedouin Soundclash, rockers Hedley, R&B diva Divine Brown, and singer/songwriters Jonas and Rex Goudie.