Event to be held June 15 in New York.

Peter, Paul & Mary will be the recipients of the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award at the Songwriters Hall of Fame 2006 Awards dinner.

The award honors industry veterans who are pioneers in their craft, whose body of work over time has been substantial, enduring and influential, and whose success and contributions over a lifetime have inspired the music community.

Peter Yarrow, Noel (Paul) Stookey and Mary Travers came together as the civil rights movement was taking shape in the 1960s. They won five Grammy Awards, produced 13 Top 40 hits and garnered eight gold and five platinum albums.

Their classics include “If I Had a Hammer,” “Cruel War,” “Where Have All the Flowers Gone,” “500 Miles,” “Lemon Tree,” “All My Trials,” and “Puff (The Magic Dragon),” which went on to be an enduring children's classic.

Past recipients of the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award are Les Paul, Patti LaBelle, Dick Clark, Gloria and Emilio Estefan, Neil Diamond, Berry Gordy, Tony Bennett, Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme, Nat King Cole, Neil Sedaka and Quincy Jones.

Inductees for this year’s Songwriters Hall of Fame are Thom Bell, Mac Davis, Will Jennings, Sylvia Moy and Henry Crosby. Kris Kristofferson will receive the Johnny Mercer Award and John Mayer will receive the Hal David Starlight Award. The event will be held on June 15 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.