Aaron Pritchett leads the list of nominees.

With six nominations British Columbia's Aaron Pritchett leads the list of nominees for the 2006 Canadian Country Music Awards. Nominees were revealed today (Aug. 2) at simultaneous press conferences in Toronto and Saint John, New Brunswick.

Pritchett, who records for Opm Discs, received nods for top male artist, top independent male artist, top album for "Big Wheel" and top songwriter for "Big Wheel," co-written with Daryl Burgess and Mitch Merrett. "Big Wheel" received additional nods in the top single, and top independent single categories.

Runners up with 5 CCMA Awards nominations are Brad Johner (306 Records), Johnny Reid (Open Road Recordings) and The Road Hammers (Open Road Recordings).

The 2006 CCMA Awards will take place Sept. 11 in Saint John, New Brunswick. The broadcast will be televised live nationally in Canada by CBC TV with a future airing on CMT Canada to be announced. The show will air at a date to be announced in the United States on Great American Country (GAC) and in Australia on Country Music Channel (CMC).

A full list of CCMA Award and Industry Award nominees is available at: