Ceremony takes place Oct. 22.

Sony BMG will walk away with 11 gongs at the 13th ECHO classical music awards ceremony in Germany on Sunday, Oct. 22.

The company's Sony Classics will clinch the most awards for a single label at the event, followed by EMI Classics' 10 awards, Universal Music's nine, and six for Warner Classics.

Winners include American Renée Fleming, who is named opera singer of the year for her recording of Richard Strauss' "Daphne" (Universal Classics/Decca).

Italian mezzo-soprano Cecilia Bartoli (Universal Classics/Decca) is the female singer of the year, while the U.K.'s Bryn Terfel (Universal Classics/Deutsche Grammophon) is male singer of the year.

And bestseller of the year goes to Russian-Austrian opera singer Anna Netrebko for her recording of "La Traviata" (Universal Classics/Deutsche Grammophon).

Argentinian-Israeli conductor Daniel Barenboim will get two ECHO gongs. He nabs conductor of the year and music DVD of the year for his project "Live In Ramallah/West-Eastern Divan Orchestra," which he recorded with the West-Eastern Divan symphony orchestra and the film director Paul Smaczny (Warner Music Group Germany/Warner Vision Germany).

U.K. violinist Daniel Hope (Warner Classics) and Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero (EMI Classics) are jointly the instrumentalists of the year.

Best Solo Recording goes to Russia's Eugeny Kissin, for his piano performances (Sony BMG/ Sony Classics), and best concert recording will be handed to Latvian Baiba Skride for her violin works (Sony BMG/Sony Classics).

The German Phono Academy will be giving a special "Ambassador of Music" award to Spanish tenor José Carreras for his long-term humanitarian works.

And the late Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, the iconic opera singer who died on Aug. 3 in Austria, is bestowed a lifetime achievement award in the year of her 90th birthday (Dec. 9)

The German Phono Academy-organized awards ceremony will be held at the Philharmonie in Gasteig, near Munich, and will air on the ZDF public broadcast network two hours later at 10pm.

The Academy invites a jury of label executives and other music industry representatives to select the winners in 21 categories.