Arcade Fire, Feist and the Dears are among the nominees for Canada's Polaris Music Prize, devoted to annually honoring creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music.

"Though stylistically very different, each record on this year's list shares a depth of emotion and artistic ambition that set them apart," says Steve Jordan, founder and executive dir. of the prize and former Warner Music Canada A&R executive. "Our jury has picked an exhilarating and must-hear collection of music."

A panel of more than 170 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada submitted their top five picks last month for best Canadian album released between June 1, 2006 and May 31, 2007. The winner will be decided by 11 selected Polaris jurors and announced at a concert in Toronto Sept. 24 and will receive $20,000.

The 10 nominees are:
Arcade Fire "Neon Bible" (Merge)
The Besnard Lakes "The Besnard Lakes Are The Dark Horses" (Jajaguwar)
The Dears "Gang of Losers" (MapleMusic Recordings)
Julie Doiron "Woke Myself Up" (Endearing records)
Feist "The Reminder" (Arts & Crafts)
Junior Boys "So This Is Goodbye" (Domino)
Miracle Fortress "Five Roses" (Secret City Records)
Joel Plaskett Emergency "Ashtray Rock" (MapleMusic Recordings)
Chad VanGaalen "Skelliconnection" (Flemish Eye)
Patrick Watson "Close To Paradise" (Secret City Records)