The Society of Composers Authors and Music Publishers of Canada held its annual awards gala in Toronto Nov. 19, with polka king Walter Ostanek, rock pioneer Ronnie Hawkins and rock band Nickelback among the winners. Ostanek received SOCAN's Lifetime Achievement Award, while the International Achievement Award went to Nickelback, and Hawkins was the recipient of this year's Special Achievement Award.

Hawkins, a hugely influential figure whose career is in its sixth decade, was the recipient of this year's Special Achievement Award, presented to individuals that have greatly contributed to Canada's music industry over the course of their careers. In his career Hawkins has played with numerous legends of the business, and his one-time backing group would later play with Bob Dylan and form The Band.

SOCAN board member Jim Vallance and his former songwriting partner Bryan Adams were also among the winners, capturing SOCAN Classics for four of their co-writes, songs that have reached the 100,000-airplay mark: "Cuts Like a Knife," "I'm Ready," "This Time" and "It's Only Love" (Adams' celebrated duet with Tina Turner), while rockers Loverboy earned three SOCAN Classics of their own, for "Turn Me Loose," "Working for the Weekend" and "Heaven in Your Eyes."

Other 2007 SOCAN Classics winners include Amanda Marshall, Dean McTaggart and David Tyson (for "Dark Horse" and, without McTaggart, "Trust Me, This Is Love"), Antoine Sicotte and Jimmy Renald (BMI) (for Sky's "Love Song" and "Some Kinda Wonderful"), SOCAN board member Murray McLauchlan (for "Try Walkin' Away"), and Loreena McKennitt (for "Mummer's Dance").

A complete list of winners can be found here.