Miguel Bosé and David Bisbal took the top awards at Spain's revived Premios Amigo on Nov. 27 in Madrid, as the top-selling Spanish artist of the past year and most-popular artist, respectively.

The 30-year veteran Bosé won for his latest album "Papito," which his record label Warner Music claims has sold 1 million units worldwide.

Bisbal, who is signed to Universal-Vale Music, was deemed most-popular by readers of the free daily "20 Minutos."

The annual gala, organized by labels' body Promusicae and is now sponsored by mobile phone company Nokia, was suspended in 2002 after seven years to protest against physical piracy.

Promusicae president Antonio Guisasola told the 1,500 audience that despite "the moment of crisis in the music industry and the threats posed by digital piracy", it was decided to revive the Premios Amigo.

The 2007 event had an abbreviated and low-key format compared to the 1997-2001 events.

Double winners on the night were Mexican singer Alejandro Fernández and Beyoncé for their duet "Amor Gitano" (Sony BMG), which took awards for most-sold song and most-sold ringtone downloads.

The most-sold Latin artist award went to Jennifer Lopez, who thanked her Spanish fans via a video screened at the gala.

EMI-signed Mexican teen band RBD took the most-sold international artist award, and Spanish heavy rock band Mago de Oz won best video prize -- voted by the public through a special Yahoo Web site -- for "Ranxeira" (Warner Dro).

Veteran Spanish singer/songwriter Luis Eduardo Aute won Promusicae's honorary award for "his artistic career in the 40th year since he recorded his first record".

Mexico-based Spanish band La Quinta Estación won the best new artist award, and closed the ceremony with a two-song performance.

The gala opened with a Ricky Martin and Eros Ramazotti duet on "No Estamos Solos" from the Italian singer's latest album, E2" (Ariola).

Also on the night, certificates were handed out to artists who have won gold or platinum awards (40,000 and 80,000 units sold) in the past year. Among the recipients were Antonio Carmona, Quijano, Coti, Pereza, Shaila Dúrcal, Dover, El Sueño de Morfeo, Kiko & Shara, Dani Mata, Pignoise and Hanna.