Fifty-four albums were announced today (Dec. 21) as the nominees for the 2007 Shortlist Music Prize, which will be handed out early next year. The prize recognizes albums released between January and November 2007 that have yet to be certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America for U.S. shipments of 500,000 units.

Among the nominees are Wilco, Feist, M.I.A., the Arcade Fire, Justice, LCD Soundsystem, Spoon, Eddie Vedder, Iron & Wine, Kings Of Leon, PJ Harvey, Stars, Underworld and Robert Pollard.

This year's listmakers are Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody, the Killers' Ronnie Vannucci, journalist Rev. Moose, KCRW DJ Chris Douridas and the hosts of Hunnypot Internet Radio. Cat Power's "The Greatest" was the 2007 winner.

The Shortlist Prize launched in 2001 and was won in its maiden year by Sigur Ros. Subsequent winners were N*E*R*D, Damien Rice and TV On The Radio. Last year, the Shortlist morphed into the New Pantheon Award, after a dispute between former Shortlist partners Tom Sarig and Greg Spotts. Sufjan Stevens' "Illinois" claimed the 2006 New Pantheon Award, although no public ceremony was ever held.