Songwriter/producer Polow Da Don earned his first win as songwriter of the year this Tuesday evening during the 56th annual BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.) Pop Awards. Also picking up key awards at Los Angeles' Beverly Wilshire Hotel were Hinder, for song of the year ("Lips of an Angel"), and EMI-Blackwood Music, Inc., for publisher of the year.

Additional multiple BMI Pop Award winners included Nickelback, Christina Aguilera, Fall Out Boy, Snoop Dogg and Universal Music Publishing Group. Hosts for the evening were BMI's president/CEO Del Bryant and VP/GM, Los Angeles Barbara Cane.

Polow Da Don's songwriter of the year honor stems from four songs he penned among 2007's top 50: the Pussycat Dolls' "Buttons" featuring Snoop Dogg, Fergie's "London Bridge" and "Glamorous" featuring Ludacris and Ludacris' “Runaway Love" featuring Mary J. Blige.

Co-written by Hinder members Blower, Cody Hanson, Mark King, Michael Rodden and Austin Winkler with producer Brian Howes, "Lips of an Angel" reached No. 1 on Billboard's Pop 100, Hot Digital Songs and Top 40 Mainstream charts. The song also earned a second BMI Award as Internet song of the year.

EMI-Blackwood Music claimed publisher of the year kudos with 14 award-winning songs, including the aforementioned "Lips," "Break It Off" (Rihanna featuring Sean Paul), "Glamorous" and "Hurt" (Christina Aguilera).

Joining a list of earlier Icon lifetime achievement honorees that includes the Bee Gees, Brian Wilson and Isaac Hayes, Hall & Oates were saluted during a lively musical tribute.

Jason Wade of Lifehouse kicked off the proceedings with "Everytime You Go Away," followed by Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump on "Rich Girl" and Grammy winner Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds on the duo's first pop hit "Sara Smile."

Together for over 30 years, Hall & Oates then took to the stage for energetic renditions of their classic hits "You Make My Dreams," "I Can't Go For That," "Maneater" and "She's Gone."