George Duke’s first album for BPM/Heads Up International, “Dukey Treats,” is set for release on Aug. 26.

Inspired by the funny and serious sides of life reflected in the R&B/soul and funk music of the ‘60s and ‘70s, Duke adds a contemporary facelift to the foundation laid by such predecessors as James Brown, Sly & the Family Stone and Earth, Wind & Fire.

Selections on “Dukey Treats” include “A Fonk Tail,” a nod to Parliament/Funkadelic, and “Sudan (It’s a Cryin’ Shame).” Featuring Butler and Teena Marie, “Sudan” talks about the ongoing human tragedy in Darfur.

The guest list put together by the veteran keyboardist/producer includes musicians Christian McBride, Sheila E. and Michael “Patches” Stuart plus singers Jonathan Butler, Howard Hewett, Teena Marie and Rachelle Ferrell.