The nominees for the World Soundtrack Awards were revealed on Tuesday, with composers Thomas Newman, Alberto Iglesias and Dario Marianelli receiving multiple nods.

The winners will be revealed at the Ghent International Film Festival on Oct. 18. This is the eighth year of the awards, which are selected by the more than 300 members of the World Soundtrack Academy.

And the nominees are:

Film Composer of the Year
- Alexandre Desplat (The Golden Compass)
- James Newton Howard (Charlie Wilson's War, Michael Clayton, I Am
- Alberto Iglesias (The Kite Runner)
- Dario Marianelli (Atonement)
- John Powell (The Bourne Ultimatum)

Best Original Score of the Year
- 3:10 to Yuma by Marco Beltrami
- Atonement by Dario Marianelli
- The Kite Runner by Alberto Iglesias
- There Will Be Blood by Jonny Greenwood
- Wall-E by Thomas Newman

Best Original Song Written Directly For Film
- "Despdida" (Love in the Time of Cholera)
Music by Antonio Pinto and Shakira, lyrics by Shakira, performed by Shakira.
- "Down To Earth" (Wall-E)
Music by Thomas Newman and Peter Gabriel, lyrics by Peter Gabriel,
performed by Peter Gabriel.
- "Do You Feel Me" (American Gangster)
Music and lyrics by Diane Warren, performed by Anthony Hamilton.
- "Guaranteed" (Into the Wild)
Music and lyrics by Eddie Vedder, performed by Eddie Vedder.
- "A Hero Comes Home" (Beowulf)
Music and lyrics by Glen Ballard and Alan Silvestri, performed by Robin Wright Penn / Idina Menzel.